Blooming right now: Esperanza or Yellow Bells (tecoma stans)

The Esperanza puts on a spectacular show when they bloom.

Esperanza (tecoma stans)

Esperanza blooms from spring to fall here in South Texas. You will mostly see them with yellow blooms, but there is also a beautiful orange/peach shade also. You can find yellow bloomers any day of the week, but trying to find one that blooms orange can be a challenge. I was lucky to come across an orange bloomer and gather a few seed pods. I was thrilled when I was able to get a few going from seed only to lose them last winter when we were colder than normal. Since then I have proceeded to lose my seed (I mean misplace them).

I have two yellow blooming Esperanza that I started from see that did survive last winter (their first winter). One is 6′ tall and hasn’t bloomed yet at all, while the other is about 3′ tall and has been blooming nicely the past month (finally!)

Esperanza (two I started from seed)

I did not have luck starting any from seed this spring/summer so I broke down and bought three more to fill in along the fence in the above photo. I will still be on the look out for some orange blooming ones, either to buy as a plant or to get another seed pod.

The Esperanza is a Texas Native. It has many likeable qualities. It can handle full sun here is South Texas, but will do well in light shade too. The flowers are beautiful and it blooms through the spring, summer and fall. You can trim it to keep it more full. It attracts hummingbirds, bees and other birds. It is one of the deer resistance plants. I hope to plant some in our front gardens to test the deer resistant theory!

There is a variety of Esperanza that is more cold tolerant. I am not sure which one I have. We have had two really cold winters from South Texas (colder than “normal”) and I am happy that two of mine survived. This winter I will mulch more heavily around them to help protect them as much as I can.

Here are some details (compliments of Dave’s Garden):

Height:
6-8 ft. (1.8-2.4 m)
8-10 ft. (2.4-3 m)
10-12 ft. (3-3.6 m)
12-15 ft. (3.6-4.7 m)

Spacing:
4-6 ft. (1.2-1.8 m)
6-8 ft. (1.8-2.4 m)

Hardiness:
USDA Zone 8a: to -12.2 °C (10 °F)
USDA Zone 8b: to -9.4 °C (15 °F)
USDA Zone 9a: to -6.6 °C (20 °F)
USDA Zone 9b: to -3.8 °C (25 °F)
USDA Zone 10a: to -1.1 °C (30 °F)
USDA Zone 10b: to 1.7 °C (35 °F)
USDA Zone 11: above 4.5 °C (40 °F)

Sun Exposure:
Full Sun
Sun to Partial Shade

Danger:
Seed is poisonous if ingested

Bloom Color:
Bright Yellow

Bloom Time:
Mid Spring
Late Spring/Early Summer
Mid Summer
Late Summer/Early Fall
Blooms repeatedly

Foliage:
Evergreen
Smooth-Textured

Other details:
This plant is attractive to bees, butterflies and/or birds
Average Water Needs; Water regularly; do not overwater

Soil pH requirements:
6.1 to 6.5 (mildly acidic)
6.6 to 7.5 (neutral)
7.6 to 7.8 (mildly alkaline)

Here area a few links with more information:

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers, Texas Natives (plants) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blooming right now: Esperanza or Yellow Bells (tecoma stans)

  1. Christine says:

    I find your posts of Texas Native plants very interesting. They are so different to the plants we have in Australia. Without blogs I would never even thought of such plants. I noticed you have high fences, is that to keep out deer?
    We have problems with possums and birds. Your post on the spider reminded me of a similar one here, the St Andrew’s Cross spider http://www.waratahsoftware.com.au/wp_spiders_st_andrews_cross.html. Spiders are beginning to appear now as the weather is warming up.

    • Hi Christine, thanks for stopping by. I can say the same about things that grow in Australia. I have been to Australia a couple of times and loved each visit. I have not been there for 21 years and I know I would see all the plants and wildlife differently now that I am more aware of those things and have more knowledge of things. Yes, the fences are to keep the deer out. They can still jump it if they really want, but so far it has deterred them. The possums, armadillos and raccoons still find their way in. We had a herd of deer in the back yard a few days ago (gate was left open!-not by me) so it is not a pretty place right now, they ate a lot! Your St. Andrew’s Cross is in the same family as the spider I posted about. Interesting!

  2. Pingback: New plants | Sincerely, Emily

  3. I’ve been told that the orange esperanza is not as cold hardy as the yellow. I had an orange one once and it didn’t survive the winter.

    • Dang. I just planted 4-5 orange ones this spring. They are so so pretty. I sure hope they make it though the winter. I will be sure to give them extra love this winter to help them now that you told me that.

Leave a Reply

