My first Tamalada: Tamale making party

I have mentioned in a previous post about the culinary SIG group I am involved with in the San Antonio Herb Society.  This month we made tamales.

We all carefully watched our hostess do a demo

The hostess for our tamalada is vegan, so we all came prepared with vegan tamale fillings and vegan snacks for the day. She emailed us all a long list of possible vegan tamale filling recipes and a list of where we could shop to find the ingredients.

My filling

After reading through her list of recipes I decided to just make up my own filling (no surprise there!) I wanted to use some of the Anaheim peppers and red bell peppers that I was able to pick out of the garden before the freeze we had last week. I pared those peppers with onions, and vegan cream cheese and it turned out to be a wonderful filling. I did removed the ribs and spines from the Anaheim peppers, but the filling was still quite hot when I taste tested it at home after I make it.

Lots of fillings

Everyone brought tasty fillings and we all shared. The majority of the fillings were savory, but there were two thoughtful creative ladies that brought sweet fillings. Whipped pumpkin and also apple and nut. We all voted for more of those sweet fillings next year.

bags of tamales

We all had a great day and filled many baggies with homemade tamales. Normally we all bring food to eat, but our hostess advised against anything big and recommended quick finger food if we felt we must bring something. She also had made some tamales ahead of time  so we could munch on and enjoy those throughout the day.  I couldn’t resist (and I had bought an extra container of vegan cream cheese because I didn’t know how much I would need) so I made up a container of stuffed celery.

Vegan stuffed celery

My first Tamalada was a huge success. We have already voted to put it on culinary SIG calendar for next year.

Vegan Stuffed Celery

  • Walnuts – chopped
  • Green Olive w/Pimentos – chopped
  • Vegan Cream Cheese (used an 8 oz container)
  • Paprika for a final dusting

Mix all ingredients together.  Cut bit size pieces of celery. “Fill” celery with mixture. Sprinkle paprika over top. YUM!

My Pepper Tamale Filling:

  • Anaheim Peppers – remove ribs & seeds if desired, then shop
  • Red Bell Peppers – remove ribs & seeds – chop
  • Onion – peel and chop

Saute all peppers and onions together. Put in bowl and let cool a bit. Stir in vegan (or regular) cream cheese. Salt to your taste.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to My first Tamalada: Tamale making party

  1. Dani says:

    Yum – now I’m hungry – and I’ve already had breakfast. Plus it’s only 9.25 a.m. here Oh well, to the kitchen I go…

  2. Jane says:

    Now that is an event I would LOVE to have gone to. And I never thought of sweet fillings. What a great idea. I reserve making tamales to once a year. To much work, but I will be making some with a sweet filling. Thanks.

  3. Karen says:

    Oh, I’m soooo jealous! I’ve been wanting to host a tamalada for ages. Need to set that up!

  4. Extremely cool dish! I’d love to give this combination a try. When you have the time do drop by my space. Would love to hear what you think. http://whenharrymetcelery.wordpress.com/2011/11/18/dumpling-grounds-2/

  5. zonnah says:

    yum! I have never made tamales and must admit the ones I have tried, I did not like. But now that I know there is more than one way to make tamales I am going to have to try to make my own 🙂

    • I think there are many ways to make tamales and think outside the box when doing it. We had HUGE tamales in Belize. It was filled with lots of chicken and sauce and spicy! It was so different than what I had known, it was a meal just to eat one. I would like to make a stuffing with chicken and blue cheese.

  6. Pingback: Sunday Photos: Mother’s Day and Yellow (let’s just pretend it is Sunday again!) | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

