Uncle Bob’s Baked Corn Casserole

It has been many many years since I have spent Thanksgiving with my family, so we just make sure that we are surrounded with our local family during the holidays. Those get-togethers revolve around a meal. One dish that I make over and over, year after year is a Corn Casserole recipe that came from my Great Uncle Bob. If we are invited somewhere around the holidays, I will bring that dish. It is just a little different from the usual holiday dishes, and usually no one has ever had it before, so I also make sure I bring a few copies of the recipe with me because someone is bound to ask how to make it. The original recipe uses canned cream corn, but over the past few years I have been modifying it to use more fresh and local ingredients. Here is my version.

Mixing all the ingredients

Uncle Bob’s Baked Corn Casserole

  • 5 1/2 cups of corn (about 42 ounces)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup plain bread crumbs (plus a bit extra for the top if you want)
  • 1 small-medium onion – chopped
  • 4 T flour
  • 2 cups milk or cream
  • 1/2 T Thyme
  • 1/2 T Sage
  • 1/2 T Oregano
  • 1/2 T garlic powder

I normally cream about half of the corn. It is up to you if you want to cream all the corn or just half of it. The original recipe used all creamed corn. If you want to cream all your corn, just increase your milk/cream by 1 more cup and add an additional 2-3T of flour.

  • Combine flour and milk/cream in a sauce pan. Heat over medium heat and add about 3  1/2 cups of corn.
  • Heat over medium heat. As the corn cooks the sauce will start to thick and “cream.”
  • In a separate bowl whisk your eggs, then add the rest of your ingredients and stir to combine.
  • Put in a buttered casserole dish
  • I like to sprinkle more bread crumbs on top to get a nice crusty top as it cooks, but that is up to you
  • Cook uncovered at 375F/180C for 1 1/2 hours.

I hope you and your family have a wonderful Thanksgiving.

Do you have any favorite family dishes that you enjoy making as much as you enjoy eating them?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Herbs, Homemade, Homemade Holiday, Real Holidays, Recipes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Uncle Bob’s Baked Corn Casserole

  1. Jane says:

    This looks very good. I make a similar dish but no bread crumbs. I must try it with the bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe.

    • Hi Jane, the original recipe used saltine crackers in the “casserole” I used breadcrumbs this time and sprinkeld more on top. I like the crunch. might ever do more crumbs on top next time and drizzle melted butter for more crunch

Leave a Reply

