Dark Days Dinner: Week 2

Dark Days Challenge 2011-2012

I am digging into the freezer for some of this weeks Dark Days Challenge meal.

Dark Days - eggs, chard, peppers, onions

I used some frozen Anaheim and bell peppers that originally came from my garden. I have a few local egg sources and the chard came fresh from my winter garden. The onions are from my neighbors garden.

This type of meal is quick to pull together. Still struggling with flour and grains. I would love to have had some fresh bread on the side, but it would not have been made with local ingredients.

  • Eggs – with in 10 miles
  • Chard – walked out back into the garden
  • Onions – walked next door for those
  • Anaheim and bell peppers – garden to freezer

This meal was a local winner. YIPPEE!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Dark Days Challenge, Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Dark Days Dinner: Week 2

  1. Looks delish!

    I dug into the freezer for my meal this week, too. And isn’t it awesome to be able to just walk out back and snip some chard? We do that all winter long around here.

  2. Susan says:

    yum. I want to grow some chard…it’s one of those things I love, but hardly ever eat. I’m inspired πŸ™‚

    • Hi Susan – I hope you can get some chard growing, if not now, then in the spring. I have struggled starting chard – the dreaded pill bugs maul it down when it is young and just popping up. I have resorted to starting it in starter pots and transplanting it, that has been the answer for me. This fall I was successful sewing the seeds directly in the ground. Those young plants are still maturing but I have some chard plants from the spring that managed to survive the brutal summer that are thriving right now. I am loving it!

  3. zonnah says:

    That looks yummy.

  4. Victoria says:

    I dug into my freezer this week too…who knew those poblanos from August would come in handy now πŸ™‚ a friend is pushing me to do eggs next week…they are the perfect winter protein!

Leave a Reply

