Making Fabric Napkins: Posting over at NDIN today

Head over to Not Dabbling in Normal today where I am posting about making fabric napkins for celebrating Real Holidays.

Taking a little walk down memory lane… (my memory lane)

I remember when I was little and we lived in Wisconsin. The fabric napkins where kept in the wash stand that sat in our dining room in our house in Chippewa Falls, WI. My mom still has those napkins. In fact when, we were going through linens in the summer of 2010 we came across them in the depths of one of the cupboards in their family room in their house in Minnesota. For the past five years my mom and I have been methodically going through things and sorting out what I want, what my brother might want and what my mom still wants to keep and use. I know I didn’t get those particular napkins that I remember from childhood, I think they might have stayed at my mom’s house or went to the cabin in Wisconsin.

We always used cloth napkins growing up. I have geographical memories – the ones from the house in Chippewa Falls and the ones from the house in Minnetonka, MN. I remember where the napkins where kept in both places and I remember getting them out to set the table each night for dinner. Fast forward to when I lived in Palm Springs, CA. I now have the washstand (originally it was my Gram’s) and that is where my napkins where kept. Here in Texas…still have Gram’s wash stand…still have linens in it too.

I have accumulated a lot more fabric napkins over the years. I have made napkins to keep for myself and to give as gifts over the years, especially since they are easy to make. They make a nice house warming gift. They are a nice gift to bring when you are invited to someone’s house for dinner or send as a thank you after you were invited to dinner.

This time I am making them for a Christmas present for my brother. He is recently on his own and I thought some fun Christmas themed napkins would put a smile on his face and his kids would get a kick out if it too. For the past 8 years I have made pillow cases for his kids for many of their gifts. They each have a pillowcase (or 2 or 3) for each holiday and other miscellaneous pillowcases for anytime use (flowers, snowflakes, autumn looking, etc). They will get one again this year so they can start a new stash at their dad’s house. The funny part is, they will recognize each fabric I use for the napkins because they have pillowcases that match!

St. Patrick's Day pillowcases ready to send in March

I laughed (sort of) as I pulled out my fabrics. I always tend to buy more then I need when I like the fabric, and this is one of those times I am glad that I did. I would always buy the seasonal or holiday-themed fabric when they went on deep discount or clearance after the holiday. That way I didn’t spend a ton of money on them to begin with. I didn’t have to buy anything for this project. I seem to have my own private fabric “store” right here in the closet.

Head over to Not Dabbling in Normal to see how I made my mitered fabric napkins. They turned out great. Now, I just need to get them in the mail!

ho ho ho

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Homemade, Homemade Holiday, Real Holidays, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Making Fabric Napkins: Posting over at NDIN today

  1. Beyond just getting natural fibers, get good quality fabric. Some places like walmart sell cheap fabric, but you really get what you pay for. Pay a few extra bucks yard, and they will last much longer.Also, don’t just limit yourself to fabric by the yard. Find cool placemats on sale to cut up. Or maybe you have a fave tablecloth with a huge stain you can cut up.My favorite thing to do is make some big, reversible napkins and use them as basket liners for wedding/housewarming gifts. Pretty, practical, and no wasted wrapping.

    • OBA – thanks for your good suggestions. I find a lot of great fabrics at the thrift store – old sheets (or curtains) that are very heavy and well made in some funky designs and just like you mentioned – tablecloths too. What a great way to use your reversible napkins. I found some fabric that had been made into curtains with a dolphin pattern on them – that is just waiting to be made into napkins for a dolphin-loving friend to use at their condo by the coast.

  2. Pingback: REAL Holidays: Making Fabric Napkins « Not Dabbling In Normal

  3. Jane says:

    Love the napkins. The Christmas one will make you table look like it is decorated with lots of little presents. They really look like wrapping paper.

Leave a Reply

