Leaky Faucet

When ever I travel I hire the 13 year old girl across the street to water for me. She has been doing that for me for the past year and it has been a nice system. When I returned from my trip to the San Francisco area at the end of October I noticed that there was a large area of wet ground around the end of the sprayer nozzle and also around the base of the faucet area.ย  Knowing how my watering girl can get carried away with water at times, and knowing I am not a big fan of digging, I decided to watch and see if the area around the faucet dried up over the next few days. It did. Lucky me, no digging! I thought my problem was solved.

We were still very dry here and on water restrictions, so on my designated watering days I started my cycle of watering all the fruit trees one by one with the soaked hose.ย  I have a tendency to forget I have the water on, so I bought a timer I can attach between the faucet and the hose. It allows me to set it for a maximum time of 120 minutes, then I set the alarm on my cell phone to go off in 120 minutes and go out and turn it on again for another 120 minutes. At the end of the evening I know I don’t have to worry about forgetting to turn the water off.

Leaking faucet

In the morning I noticed the soaker house was still wet. That was not normal. Usually after sitting there all night without water, the soaker hose had dried off, but this hose was still wet. I checked the faucet and it was off. I checked the timer and it was off. The next morning, the same thing, wet soaker hose. It turns out the faucet part was slightly leaking and that is why the soaker hose was still wet. We had everything (except glue) we needed to replace the faucet and we was able to use my neighbors glue to finish this task without going to the store.

Faucet fixed

The faucet is fixed and working fine (thanks to my husband). I wanted to make it a bit higher, but not too high, I still needed to be able to put a bucket over it at night if we have freezing temperatures. I am thrilled to have the faucet going in the right direction now also. The way that other one was mounted drove me crazy and pinched the hose too.

Happy Faucet.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous, Projects. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Leaky Faucet

  1. Dani says:

    Looks good, Emily. To get rid of the slight kink you have left, why not try digging a small short channel in the ground so that you can allow the pipe to gradually return to ground level?

  2. You guys know so much about gardening. I wish I can do some of it myself ๐Ÿ˜€ Your posts are always so lovely ๐Ÿ˜€

    Do drop by my space, I need to know what you think about my red bean hummus.

  3. zonnah says:

    oh dear, at least you got it fixed!

Leave a Reply

