Cookie Exchange: Part III

On the Wednesday morning of the cookie exchange  I felt pretty good about how things were going. I had half of my 12 dozen cookies finished and bagged, I just needed to make another 6 dozen and I would be home free. The window installation was still moving along even though outside it was alternating between drizzle and rain.

I went outside to take a walk around and look at the installation. I was taking metal notes of questions I wanted to ask when I noticed that there were several pots and containers filled with water so I started emptying them. That is when I found the wireless phone that I haven’t been able to find. It was laying on the ground, just off the deck and it was dripping wet.

This particular phone had been missing about 3 weeks. I know I would eventually find it, but at the same time I couldn’t imagine where I left it (because it is usually me that sets them down somewhere and can’t find them.) It took me a few minutes to realize that I didn’t have it in the area it was found, but my husband had had it out on the deck one morning he was home and making phone calls…. aaahhh, it was not me for once!

It really doesn’t matter who left the phone where, I was glad to have found it, even though it was dripping wet. That is when I had my brilliant idea. After I took the batteries out and shook out as much of the water as I could, I set it on the edge of the stove as I was backing cookies. I figured the heat would help pull the moisture out of the phone and it would dry out.

It wasn’t an extremely hot area, but I thought it would just speed things along. The cookie baking was going well and the phone seemed to be drying out well too.

When I was finally done with the cookies and the oven had been turned off, I propped the oven open a bit to dump the warm air into the kitchen and that is when I had my next brilliant idea. Why not just put the phone in the oven since it was now on the warm side. So I put the phone on the top rack and closed the door. It would be fine in there. I was done with the oven after all and (of course) I would remember it was in there the next time I needed the oven, right?

Several hours went by, a few more windows were installed, and it I needed to get changed and load my cookies in the car to head off to the cookie exchange. I completely forgot about the lasagna I needed to bake and take to the cookie exchange, so I went and turned the oven onto 350F to pre-heat it.

I heard the beep of the oven letting me know it was up to temp, so I headed back to the kitchen to get the lasagna in there. I opened the oven door, lasagna in hand ready to slip it in there and I was taken over by a cloud of toxic fumes. Yup, you already figured it out, I forgot all about the phone sitting in there. Not good.

I put the lasagna aside, turned the oven off, opened the oven door, opened the back door, and turned on the box fan to pull the air out of the kitchen. It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, thank goodness there were no flames and remarkable the phone still looked like a phone. However when I went to pick it up and get it out of the oven I realized that it was indeed melted and completely stuck to the oven rack.

So, what do you do when you forget you put the phone in the oven, and proceed to melt it to the oven rack? First of all, I laugh, because after all it is funny and there isn’t a darn thing I can do about it now. The phone is toast (or baked in this particular case). Second, I take a photo of it. Third I hang it on the wall in the kitchen and call it “kitchen art.”

Do you have any kitchen disasters that you can laugh at now?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Cookie Exchange: Part III

  1. Jane says:

    Oh NO! I hate when that happens. If you have not had a kitchen mishap, then you dont have a kitchen.

  2. Victoria says:

    Oh my goodness! Well I’m thrilled to see your cookie challenge is rockin, but sad about your phone…guess it’s time to upgrade!

    • Yes, great cookie exchange. But when “baked phone” is on the menu – not so good. Maybe I need to try a different recipe (for baked phone). We still have three more wireless phones to the same set. I think we can manage!

  3. OH!!! This is sooo funny 😀 I recently baked garlic bread pudding with the plastic lid on!! It melted in no time 😛 I haven’t seen you around my space forever! Come soon 😀

  4. zonnah says:

    Oh dear, that sounds like something I would do, lol.

  5. Pingback: It’s about time… « Not Dabbling In Normal

  6. Pingback: Making Crackers: It’s About Time !! | Sincerely, Emily

  7. Pingback: A “new” oven rack | Sincerely, Emily

  8. Pingback: Another phone photo | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

