DDC Meal: Week 6 – Quiche with Mashed Turnips

I know I am being repetitive with a few of the ingredients I am using for my Dark Days Challenge meals. Chard seems to be a front runner in the line of repetition and so do turnips lately. Those are two of the things still growing strong in the garden. Lettuce is maturing now and we have started eating that. Soon that will be part of every meal and it will be a staple in our meals and I will feel like I mention it over and over (like the chard!) I am not complaining one bit, I love to be able to walk out back and bring in fresh food, and I feel very fortunate to be able to do that.

We eat many SOLE ingredients in each meal here. Many times there is a catch, not all the ingredients are local. The other night I made dinner with SOLE basil pesto, chard, ground burger and venison served over organic (but not local) bow tie pasta. So, the darn pasta made the meal null and void for the DDC. Sure, I could have made the pasta – still, it wouldn’t have fit the bill to fit into the SOLE category. Every other ingredient to that particular meal was sustainable, organic, local and ethical.Still, I feel very good about knowing that the majority of that particular meal fit the SOLE list.

Back to this weeks DDC meal. Using some of the pork from last weeks meal I made up a crustless quiche. I have posted about my crustless quiche before. It is such as easy thing to whip up and the ingredient combinations are endless. Kind of like pizza in that regard. When I have little bits of “this” and “that” that I need to use up, they usually wind up in either the crustless quiche, on a pizza or in an omelet.

Crustless Quiche

On the Side:

  • Mashed turnips – My garden – walk out back (I like that part a lot)
  • Bunching onions – My neighbors garden
  • salt/pepper

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Dark Days Challenge, Homemade and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to DDC Meal: Week 6 – Quiche with Mashed Turnips

  1. Jes says:

    Beautiful quiche & I love the mashed turnips!

  2. zonnah says:

    The quiche sounds yummy.

  3. Pingback: Dark Days Meal Week 9: Meatloaf with Mashed Turnips | Sincerely, Emily

  4. Pingback: SSFC: Quiche with grilled Zucchini – #3 | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

