Dark Days Meal Week 9: Meatloaf with Mashed Turnips

I was looking for a bit of comfort food this week. Meatloaf quickly came to mind and I knew I had everything that I needed to make it and it would also fit the bill for the Dark Days Challenge too.

Using a combination of pork and venison I knew the meatloaf would be delicious. I also added farm fresh eggs and frozen Anaheim peppers and onions from the spring and summer garden.

I enjoyed them so much that mashed turnips made another entrance for a DDC meal. These turnips came from Boggy Creek Farm. I talked about my recent visit to Boggy Creek Farm in Austin, TX here. Mashed turnips are making another appearance. I used them in another DDC meal and you can read about that here.

We finished off this wonderful comfort food meal with a nice green side salad with greens from the garden.

This meal hit the spot.

  • Pork – Bandera Grasslands – 70 miles
  • Venison – from a friend of my husband
  • Anaheim Peppers – from my Summer garden
  • Onions – from my Spring garden
  • Turnips – from Boggy Creek Farm – 76 miles
  • Bunching Onions – from neighbors garden
  • Salad – from my garden
  • Ketchup – organic, but not local

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Dark Days Challenge, Homemade and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Dark Days Meal Week 9: Meatloaf with Mashed Turnips

  1. Victoria says:

    Yum! I’m headed to the farm tomorrow in search of some DDC inspiration. The mashed turnips look great…wonder if I can fool the little cook in my kitchen. He’s starting to get too smart for his own apron 😉

    • I am heading to a farmer’s market tomorrow. I am sure we will both find some nice things. With the mashed turnips you could always combine them with potatoes or cauliflower for mashing (when you little cook has his back turned!)

  2. annieriedora says:

    Oh, this looks so good. I have been craving meatloaf. But, the other half, Jay, wants oysters, for some reason. We are heading to DuPont Circle in DC Sunday to get some Rappahannock oysters to make oyster stew. Atwater’s bread, and some mushrooms to add to my CSA spinach for salad.

    Sounds like A DDC meal to me!

  3. annie says:

    Yum! We eat a lot of turnips but I’ve never made them mashed. I’ll have to give that a try.

  4. Jes says:

    That meatloaf is gorgeous! I could totally go for a piece of it.

Leave a Reply

