Gingerbread Hot Cocoa: It’s about time!

I have been on the look out for a good hot chocolate recipe. The ones I have have tried, up until now, have been chalky. One of their ingredients has been powdered coffee creamer. I should have known, but I kept holding out hope that I would like one. Susy from Chiot’s Run posted her recipe back in October over at Not Dabbling in Normal.

Making Gingerbread Hot Cocoa

I stumbled upon this recipe back in October and made my first batch in November. I found the recipe over at My Byrd House. Here is a link to go directly to her page with the recipe for Gingerbread Hot Cocoa. A big thank you! I really like this cocoa!

This recipe is easy to make and I had most of the ingredients at home already.

Gingerbread Hot Cocoa Mix:      
1/2 cup sugar (can use sucanant)
1 T flour
1/4 cup cocoa
1 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 tsp ground cloves
1/8 tsp ground allspice
1/4 tsp salt

Directions:

Blend the mix ingredients together and store in an airtight container with a lid until ready to use.

Makes 3/4 cup mix.

To make hot chocolate:

Add 3/4 cup mix to 2 cups water and simmer for about 4 minutes.

Stir in 6 cups milk and reheat.

Add 1 tsp vanilla and serve.

heating up the mixture

For single serving:
Add 1 1/2 Tbsp mix to 1/4 cup water.

Boil until thickened. Add 3/4 to 1 cup milk and reheat.

Add a bit of vanilla and enjoy.

Gingerbread Hot Cocoa

With our temperatures running in the mid-high 70’s during the day lately, I really haven’t felt much like hot coca lately. Friday night we had a front go through. It brought some much needed rain with thunder and lightning. It also brought some cooler temps. Sunday night I was ready for a nice warm cup of cocoa again.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade, It's About Time, Recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Gingerbread Hot Cocoa: It’s about time!

  1. Jane says:

    If it is too hot for cocoa, just put some in coffee and call it something long and fancy and charge $5 for it. It made Starbucks billions.

  2. Jes says:

    That hot cocoa looks amazing! I love the gingerbread twist with it!

  3. Pingback: Making Crackers: It’s About Time !! | Sincerely, Emily

  4. This is now on my to-do list 🙂 For some reason I could not comment in my normal fashion, I had to comment using facebook, weird.

    • We enjoyed the Gingerbread coca this winter. I saw you were commenting under FB, I wonder why it was different. For the past 3-4 months, there are a few blogs that I haven’t been able to comment on using WordPress and gave up and starting commenting with an open ID. Still don’t know why. I am glad you figured out how to comment. I was over reading your posts the other day (geocashing, ceramics, etc) but never commented, I will get back there and comment.

Leave a Reply

