Making Chapstick: It’s About Time!

Chapstick or lip balm has been an item on my list of things to make for some time now. I really seem to have some momentum going this year and I feel good about making and doing all these new things.

Some of the things I am getting to on my own and other things I am doing with a friend. I have known this friend for a little over a year through the herb society, but we have only just realized that we are doing a lot of the same things, or wanting to do a lot of the same things so we have decided to get together once a month and do a few projects. We have a lot in common and it is fun when we get together for our little adventures in the kitchen and beyond.

A few weeks ago when we got together and we had two things planned to do. Make soap and make chapstick (or lip balm.) Making Soap is something she has really wanted to do and I was thrilled to be able to share what I know with her. We made a plain batch of soap to start out with and only added some oats to it. The next day she took it out of the mold and cut it into bars. It is curing now and before she knows it she will be using the it.

Then we made chapstick. I came with two recipes and decided to make the one I found over at A Sonoma Garden called Homemade Chapstick.

I am not going to reprint the recipe. You can easily go over to A Sonoma Garden by clicking the above link.

This is what is in the recipe:

  • Beeswax
  • Coconut Oil
  • Cocoa Butter
  • Olive Oil
  • Vitamin E

Those are ingredients I can wrap by mind around, not to mention I had them on hand and I was ready to go! I found my chapstick tubes at Texas Natural Supply – just make sure you also order the tops to go with them (those are sold separately). You can also find them at Mountain Rose Herbs (those come with tops included).

I really wanted to use the tubes for this recipe. Cute little tins or containers are just too hard to get into when I am working out in the yard or driving. Also, I am not thrilled with rubbing a dirty finger in a tin to apply to my lips throughout the day. Tubes are the way to go for me.

Making the chapstick is a very easy process. Heat the beeswax, coconut oil, cocoa butter and olive oil. Once melted, remove from heat and add vitamin E. Stir until that is well incorporated. Add any essential oil. We added 3 drops of spearmint – (that was not enough for me!)

Now it is time to pour into the tubes. That was a big discussion. How to pour it. We ended up using the 1/2 pint jar we melted the oils in and we used a small funnel. Where I went wrong was waiting too long and the oils had started to cool and firm up. We reheated the oils, but I had plugged up the funnel by then so I now just poured the mixture into the tubes. I missed a bit, but that’s alright. As I cleaned it up I just rubbed it all into my hands – good stuff!

The recipe says it will fill 7 tubes. When you look at the amount of mixture, you will doubt that – I know I did, but I had 7 tubes ready. If I hadn’t poured so much down the sides – yes, it would have filled 7 tubes (or at least 6 of them.) The way it turned out, we filled 5 tubes easily.

It was a warm day when we did this recipe (mid-70’s) and the mixture didn’t seem to firm up as much as I would have liked. That night when I tested it, it was a very soft chapstick and I was concerned that I could never keep it in my pocket with out melting all over.

Since then, I have kept it in my pocket and it has been fine. The mixture is still very soft (I am used to using firm chapstick) but it is moisturizing and does a great job. I am not sure how it will hold up in my pocket on a hot South Texas summer day. I imagine by the time we reach those temps I will need to make up a new batch and I will just add a bit more beeswax to firm up the mixture just a little bit more.

Have you made chapstick yet? Do you have a recipe you would like to share?

Sincerely, Emily

P.S. When my friend and I get together in March we will be making crackers and we are also going to try pounding spoons and stamping them with inspiring messages or making them into markers for our herbs out in our gardens.

This entry was posted in Homemade, It's About Time, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Making Chapstick: It’s About Time!

  1. Jane says:

    Wow those look great. Yes I do make a lip stick recipe very similar to this but I add some crushed fruit for color, like a blueberry or cherry or something. When you read all the horrible chemicals in store bought, you would never buy it again.

  2. banbamama says:

    I think I live vicariously through you ๐Ÿ™‚ I wish I had the time to make all the things you do! Roll on the summer!

  3. annie says:

    The lip balm looks great! Definitely on my list of things to do, as is soap. I think they’ll both have to wait until Poppyseed is a little older or perhaps for summer when my husband is off of work and can watch him, because babies and lye don’t mix. That’s great that you’re going to make crackers. I make ours and now I can’t stand store bought crackers. Homemade is amaaazing!

    • Hi Annie – yes, Poppyseed and soap making don’t mix too well, unless he is in another room altogether. I do like the lip balm – chapstick. It still is a bit soft, so I have to be careful when I put it on. I will definitely add a bit more beeswax when I make it up again. I am just so happy to be making another item. Just one more item to take off the “buy” list. Oh, crackers – I can’t wait. I have put off buying store crackers for months… it is just time to stamp my foot, have a long talk with myself and just MAKE THEM! (hence: It’ About Time!)

  4. Oh the joys of making something for the first time ๐Ÿ™‚ At least when you make it next time you will know what to expect.

Leave a Reply

