Dark Days Meal: Week 14 – Vegetarian Theme

This week in another mini-challenge for those of us participating in the Dark Days Challenge. We have been challenged to cook a vegetarian meal.

This is not really a challenge for me. We eat many vegetarian meals using chickpeas, bulgar wheat, quinoa, but none of those things are local.

Local – no problem. Vegetarian – no problem.

Where did it all come from:

  • Broccoli: out back in the garden
  • Butternut Squash: Martinez Farm (organic certified) – Pleasanton, TX – 64 miles
  • Mushrooms: Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm – 73 miles

Oh My Gosh – those mushrooms were SO SO good!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Dark Days Challenge, Garden, Homemade and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dark Days Meal: Week 14 – Vegetarian Theme

  1. karenish says:

    Oh, I am in love with mushrooms lately! I should find a local source for them. Or even learn how to hunt them myself. Yum!

    • I keep telling myself I am going to get a kit of something to start them…. still haven’t done it. One day. Until then, I am happy to have a local mushroom farm in the area!

  2. That looks delicious– I envy you the local mushrooms!

  3. Victoria says:

    ā¤ Mushrooms!
    A dear friend (who happens to loathe mushrooms) sent me a mushroom growing kit for my birthday! Too bad I won't have any ready by this weekend šŸ™‚

    The dinner looks divine!

  4. Jane says:

    That broccoli is making me hungry. It just looks so good. I almost licked the screen. Can you tell it has been a while since I ate broccoli?

    • do you have broccoli started yet, or it is just a bit too soon – even in your greenhouse? I have a bunch of the tender little shoots right now – I think they are calling out to be dinner tonight or tomorrow night. Sorry, didn’t mean to tease you!

  5. Fresh mushrooms are so good! My neighbor has so many coming in on his logs right now that we can barely eat what he gives us before he’s bringing over another bag. Your meal is making me hungry.

    • I would be eating them for breakfast, lunch and dinner if your neighbor gave them to me. What a treat! That is so so great! I have to see about getting some logs going (when ever the timing is right)

  6. Pingback: Dark Days Week 14: EAST recapper Vegetarian Meals « Not Dabbling In Normal

  7. Pingback: Dark Days: Week 15 – Roasted Chicken w/Roasted Butternut Squash | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

