Blooming right now: Palmer’s Sedum (sedum palmeri)

Genus: Sedum

Comman name: Palmer’s Sedum (sedum palmeri)

The genus Sedum encompasses a diverse group of succulent plants, ranging from diminutive mats to 2-foot shrubby mounds. They are most often grown for their colorful, clean foliage and ease of culture.

I had a hard time identifying this plant. Is it sedum, or is it stonecrop? I finally found out! I was at the Antique Rose Emporium the other day and I saw it in a pot in one of their displays. I was thrilled they were able to help me with its name.

Palmer’s Sedum is  absolutely stunning right now. This is growing in an old wheel barrow in my neighbor’s yard.

As I was checking out the beautiful flowers and taking photos, Blackie had to “help” me. He follows me around talking as we walk. I am sure he pointing out other things I haven’t noticed yet.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cats, Flowers, Garden and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Blooming right now: Palmer’s Sedum (sedum palmeri)

  1. Pingback: Blooming right now: Stemless Evening Primrose (oenothera triloba) | Sincerely, Emily

  2. Sartenada says:

    I have not seen Palmer’s Sedum. I think that it could not grow here where we have cold and snow during winter. We have in our garden some “Sedums”, but not this one.

    I do love Your photos. They are great and praise the beauty of this.

    Happy Easter.

    • I don’t know the details on the Palmer’s Sedum. I am not sure it would handle the cold winters and come back. It might be grown as an annual. Even in So. Texas if we have a colder winter with many freezes, it doesn’t get frozen back and has to start over. Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Stacey Bower says:

    My Sedum ‘Palmeri’ has survived several winters in a window-box in my Beaverton, Oregon garden. (Hardiness zone 8a.)

Leave a Reply

