Mr. Toad’s new swimming hole

You may remember some of Mr. Toad’s adventures last summer. His antics sure are memorable. I know Mr. Toad and family have a great home under the slab of our air conditioning condenser, but I have often wondered where the water source is for Mr. Toad and Mrs. Toad to lay their eggs. Maybe it is under the a/c slab also. I don’t know and I sure am not going to dig down there to find out.

Instead we added a new swimming hole especially for Mr. Toad’s family and friends.

Located just 7 feet from his under-slab bungalow, this swimming hole is going to be the local hot-spot for them this summer. They will not have far to hop for a nice cool dip and slurp up some fresh mosquito larva.

His swimming hole will get some morning sun, but for the most part it is quite shaded. I will be adding some vegetation to it very soon. I know water lilies will not do well here, they need more sun, so I will try some underwater stuff and maybe a tall grass of some kind (basically, what ever my friend/neighbor thinks will work and gives me from her water gardens!)

If I don’t see Mr. or Mrs. Toad soon, then I will add a few mosquito fish to keep the mosquito larva under control. My husband saw a toad in the driveway last week when we were getting some rain, but I have not seen hide nor hop of Mr. Toad near the air conditioner. Maybe they are just getting a few extra winks in before the heat of the summer hits.

We hope Mr. Toad will enjoy his new swimming hole. What more could Mr. Toad want? Don’t answer that… I am sure he would like a few lounge chairs and a drink with an umbrella, but I really need to draw the line somewhere.

Other adventure’s of Mr. Toad:

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Little things, Miscellaneous, Mr. Toad and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Mr. Toad’s new swimming hole

  1. Dani says:

    One good deed deserves another – I’m sure Mr Toad will repay the favour 🙂

  2. Jane says:

    How very hospitable of you 🙂 I am sure he will appreciate that very much.

    • Thanks Jane. I think he will appreciate it. Or at least that is what I am hoping. It was so dry last year and I kept watering the entrance to their bungalow and also put a plant saucer out for them with water. They certainly enjoyed that saucer filled with water that I can imagine them doing back flips in the swimming hole. I need to get something in it so they are able to get out. Maybe a board for now, anything so they can get out after they get in.

  3. Victoria says:

    Great idea! I bet Mr. Toad & his family like to eat the buggies in the garden!

  4. Very nice. I have been wanting to do something like this in my garden but I will have to bring some toads in 🙂

  5. annierie says:

    We don’t live that close to water either, but there is a small pond the old owners installed at the end of our deck. This year there are three toads living in it. Have no idea where they came from, but they keep the mosquitos down. I was going to do a post about them someday soon.

  6. bumblelush says:

    How exciting that you have a toad! I had a toad in my small goldfish pond a couple of years ago. I saw it once last year, and I’m really hoping it comes back this year. I understand that toads are a sign of a healthy pond! Thank you for commenting on my recent DD meal post. It’s been a really fun challenge!

    • Bumblelush – I loved your chicken stuffed with sage and the apple on top – great flavor combo! I have to remember that one. I hope your toad comes around again this year. I have two water gardens (in tanks) that I set up last year. Complete with mosquito fish and water lilies and other green grass under water. My neighbor brought me a huge mass of leopard frog eggs last fall from one of their water gardens and we split them between both of my water gardens. In one tank the tadpoles are about to start growing legs (they are huge), in the other they are a bit further behind in development. But they are all happy and healthy and it is fun to watch the life in those two water gardens. It is going to be fun to see what happens in Mr. Toads swimming hole too. I am hoping for toad-poles!

  7. Nancy Davis says:

    I love it when I see a toad in my garden area! I never thought about providing water for them. I just recently started a blog so that I could record my gardening excitement this summer. I would like to invite you to come take a look! Happy gardening!!! Nancy http://cozythymecottage.blogspot.com/

    • Thanks for stopping by Nancy. I started by just putting a saucer from the base of a pot and kept it filled with water. I would find a few toads in there at a time all taking a little dip. We were so dry here last summer, with no rain at all, know they appreciated it. Even if we did have rain, I still would have put it out there.

  8. Joanna says:

    I can’t WAIT to see Mr Toad and his friends return and their eyes will pop out when they see their new pool 😉 I have just been reading your posts and adminring your lupins and thinking that your summer is already happening, lupins are just a few leaves in a plant pot here right now. We have got tulips opening and the apple trees are toying with the idea of blossoming but they aren’t quite sure yet…

    • our temps have been quite hot this spring. The lupine/Texas Blue bonnets are almost done and starting to put on seeds. I can’t wait for Mr. Toad and fmaily to come out and see their new pool. I really think I should have seen them by now, but nothing. I am going to put a few of the mosquito fish in there in a few days to keep the mosquito larvae under control. My apple and peach tree both have fruit already. the peaches are the size of golf balls. I am always amazed how different things grow here in the south compared to other areas.

  9. Pingback: Mr. Toad returns (2012) | Sincerely, Emily

  10. Pingback: Mr. and Mr. and Mrs. Toad | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

