Popcorn

Popcorn is a wonderful thing.

Popcorn

My earliest popcorn memories revolve around my Gram. It was a treat to have popcorn at her apartment because she had a secret ingredient. She guarded the secret ingredient, until one day I went in the kitchen when she was finishing the popcorn and I found out what it was…

Lawyr’s Seasoning Salt.

Up until a few years ago, I always made popcorn and added Lawyr’s Seasoning Salt. Then again, up until a few years ago I made and ate popcorn every day. I have slowed down a bit on the popcorn making since then, but popcorn is still a part of my life and always will be.

In the early 70’s my dad brought home a microwave. Dad also started bringing home microwave popcorn around that time too. I can’t remember the story on the microwave popcorn. The memory I have is that we were testing it, but I was under 10 years old and I could have totally made that up.

Gram always popped Orville Redenbacher’s Popcorn. I imagine there weren’t too many options back then. I can remember Orville’s and Jolly Time.

My popcorn pallet has changed a lot since then. Over 20 years ago, my second-cousin turned me onto a company called Yoder’s Popcorn in Indiana and I used to mail order my popcorn. They had a popcorn called Tiny Tenders that was wonderful. Very little hull and nice crunch. Then my Uncle told me about an Amish store called Weaver’s where he bought his camping food supplies and my brother and I went there to check it out one time when I was in Wisconsin visiting and I found popcorn there. Weaver’s is called Baby Rice Popcorn (tender and hulless they say). I ended up ordering my popcorn from them and only recently have run out. There is another place that I can get some nice organic popcorn called Fireworks Popcorn also in Wisconsin. They have one called Baby White Rice.

I was up in Wisconsin this past summer and never made it to Weaver’s to stock up so I called my second cousin and she bought enough to fill a large UPSP flat-rate box and shipped it to me. A few years ago, this would have been considered an emergency. I am dealing with it much better now.

I realize that all of my popcorn has come from Wisconsin or the Midwest. I need to start looking for some local popcorn in Texas or start growing my own. I can’t seem to find a source for Texas popcorn, so I ordered seeds from Seed Savers Exchange and have planted some of my own this spring. I am growing Tomb Thumb and Strawberry popcorn from Seed Savers.

I know the amount of popcorn I am growing will not be enough to keep me in popcorn for a year, but I had to try to grow at least some. That is my “fun” plant this year. I am not sure I have had a “fun” plant before, now I do.

I can always call my brother and ask him if he is up for a little adventure with my nieces to go out to Weaver’s to buy Aunt Emily some popcorn. They already think I am the “nutty” Aunt, I might as well keep that thought fresh in their mind.

Any other popcorn lovers out there?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Popcorn

  1. Tara says:

    Wow, I didn’t know popcorn had it’s own plant – I thought it was just regular corn kernels that had been dried! You learn something new every day 🙂

    • Hi Tara – thanks for stopping by. popcorn is just another type of corn, but you let it dry instead of harvesting and eating like sweet corn. The popcorn that you pop is exactly what it looks like coming off the corn cob and that is also the seed to plant and grow more popcorn. The same goes for a cob of corn you eat (corn on the cob) once dried then you take each seed and plant it to start new corn plants. It is all a part of seed saving. So, technically, if you save some seeds each year you can replant your crops next growing season and never have to buy seeds (and cross your fingers that your crops & vegetable gardens do well so you can save seeds again next season.

  2. Jane says:

    I like popcorn. But Helen and Scott Nearing advocated eating a bowl of plain popcorn for an acceptable breakfast. I dont like it that much 😉

    • Breakfast – D E F I N I T E L Y ! Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or Dessert OR snack. I am up for it anytime. If I have left over from the night before I will eat it in the morning!

  3. monicasqbc says:

    My mom’s Uncle Fred was an Iowa popcorn grower. Mom kept popcorn from him in a large, blue, hinged-lid, tin container (about fruit flat volume) in the basement along with canned fruits, vegetables, etc. Popcorn was a Sunday night treat, as I recall, and certainly made movie theater popcorn another thing altogether! Back then (in the late ’40’s and early ’50’s) Halloween wasn’t so scary for parents. So one year, our house was the favorite on the block when Mom gave out homemade popcorn balls. Thanks for helping me dredge up the memories, Em!

    • Deb! – Thanks for stopping by! So fun to see you pop up!!!!! MISS YOU and the beading gang! What a FUN memory about popcorn. I have never made popcorn balls, but a friend in Palm Springs used to make them and I loved them. Yes, Halloween was safer back then. Can’t get away with that now unless you are making it for kids/families that know you! I always associate popcorn with Gram. Those are great memories!

  4. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, We are still in the using the microwave popcorn stage. Bad I know! Our dog, Coco, loves popcorn and gets so excited when she hears it start popping! Barks up a storm! Of course, she gets to eat some of it too! Nancy at Cozy Thyme Cottage

    • I used to eat a lot of microwave popcorn. Also ate a lot of the movie popcorn because I made it every day at one of the airports I worked at. It sounds like you dog enjoys it as much as I do. One of our cats likes it too.

  5. karenish says:

    Oh yes! We’re fortunate to get our popcorn from our CSA, so it’s local. And delicious.
    I make mine in an air popper, and add butter, salt, and nutritional yeast. Yum!

  6. Laura says:

    I love popcorn too and eat it almost everyday. My favorite is from a company you mentioned, FIreworks Popcorn! My favorite kernels are the Harvest Blend. Their seasons are really yummy too! I love them all, but my kids love the white cheddar the best. You can’t go wrong with a popcorn company from the midwest and more specifically Fireworks Popcorn. Also, if you go to the store or call in an order their staff are super friendly and helpful!!

    • Hi Laura. I used to eat popcorn everyday, but have backed off (not for any particular reason) I do love the stuff. The Fireworks Harvest Blend is one of my cousins favorites. I have not tried the cheddar – that sure does sound great! I am excited to be growing some this year.

  7. Pingback: Peppers and Popcorn | Sincerely, Emily

  8. As an Organic Farmer in Wood County (North East Texas), I’m wondering how your crop turned out? I’m wanting to plant an acre or so this year on ground that I’ve had two years of clover on. Should have lots of nitrogen, but concerned about futher drought conditions.But that a farmer, always concerned about somethin.
    Were you happy with what you planted?
    Karl E. Falster

    • Chris says:

      If you grow organic popcorn here in Texas, please let me know – chris at Tough Cookie Bakery

    • Hi Karl, sorry for the late reply. I have a very small backyard garden in comparison to your farm from the sounds of it. I planted three small rows of popcorn, and for the most part I was happy with what I planted. I think I would have had what would be considered a good crop had I kept my eye on it before the worms got to it and more rain would have helped too. I just kept thinking August to harvest and I really needed to be looking a lot earlier than that. So, no real harvest to speak of. I will try again. Drought is always on our minds isn’t it. My winter gardens are doing so much better than the summer ones.

Leave a Reply

