Make your own curry powder

I used to buy pre-made curry powder, but not anymore. Like so many things that come in bottles or boxes; curry powder is another one of those things that is so easy to make on your own and it is so much more fresh and fragrant than the stuff that comes out of a spice jar that you bought at the grocery store. Who knows long long about that stuff was ground or how long it has been sitting on the shelf before you bought it.

When I make it myself I also know that I am using organic herbs and I know how fresh they are. Some of them even came out of my garden and I dried them myself.

Curry Powder:

  • 1 1/2 tsp Cumin Seeds
  • 1 1/2 tsp Coriander seeds (from my garden)
  • 1 1/2 tsp Mustard seeds
  • 1 1/2  tsp Whole Black peppercorns
  • 1 1/2 tsp Turmeric
  • 1/2 tsp Crushed Hot Red Pepper Flakes

Combine above spices in a small electric grinder (I use a coffee grinder that is dedicated to herbs and spices.) You can also grind them by hand using a mortar and pestle or in a small bowl using the back of a spoon. Whatever works best for you.

The smell is so “curry” when I open up the spice grinder. Amazing and fresh.

This curry power when into a shrimp curry. I started by cooking the onions and onions in a little oil until they were translucent.

I then added the curry powder and cooked it while stirring for 2-3 minutes. The heat really brings out the oils in the spices.

At that point I added some home grown roasted tomatoes that I had in the freezer.

My cupboard space isn’t taken up with pre-made spice mixes anymore, it is made up of jars individual organic spices and herbs; either homegrown or ordered (from Mountain Rose Herbs) and I can use to make up anything I want. Some of you might remember my post about my obsession with jars were you can get a glimpse into one of my cupboards that holds some of the herbs and spices.

Other things you can make on your own:

Are there spice mixes that you make?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Herbs, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Make your own curry powder

  1. Nancy says:

    Emily, great idea and thanks for the recipe!

  2. Jane says:

    I just have never developed a love of curry. Yet I read the ingredients and they all sound like things I eat separate. Hum, me thinks I need to experiment further with curry. I may be trying this one out soon.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, You do great making so many different things from scratch! Good job! Nancy at Cozy Thyme Cottage

    • Hi Nancy, Little by little I try to make new things. I just packed my first batch of sauerkraut into canning jars tonight and into the refrigerator. It tastes great (posting about soon I hope!)

  4. Pingback: Making Taco Seasoning Mix: It’s about time! | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

