SSFC: Raw – #2

This is the first of our theme weeks for the Southern SOLE Food Challenge. We set our sights on raw/vegetarian for this weeks theme.

I love eating many thing raw straight out of the garden, but it took me a few minutes to come up with a plan for an entire raw meal.

My cucumbers are not ready to harvest yet, but many of the vendors at the farmers markets have beautiful cucumbers and I have picked up several over the past few weekends. They don’t last long, because I slice them and keep them in the refrigerator to snack on. When I got back from the farmers market on Saturday, I had to set aside 3 cucumbers so that I would have them for our Sunday night Raw dinner.

“Cool as a Cucumber” soup was on the menu. I have posted about this cold soup before, so I won’t re-write the recipe – click here to read the post I already put together. This cold raw soup is perfect for the any summer meal. I used homemade yogurt (technically, I have to heat the milk throughout the yogurt making process, so that isn’t “raw”

We had simple sliced tomatoes from the garden on the side. They were full of flavor.

Where was everything from:

  • Yogurt – homemade using Strykly milk (100 miles)
  • Cucumbers – Martinez Farm – Pleasanton, TX (64 miles)
  • Garlic – from the garden out back (hop, skip & a jump)
  • Dill weed – far far away
  • Tomatoes – from the garden out back (hop, skip & a jump!)

You can click on the SSFC badge at the top of the post to see what the other participants did for our Raw Theme week.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Herbs, Homemade, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to SSFC: Raw – #2

  1. Jane says:

    Raw food is so good for you and full of enzymes. I love this part of the year when it is so much easier (and cooler) to make raw food. Your soup looks good, if and when I ever get a cuke I will need to make this. Thanks.

    • Hi Jane, I keep watching my cucumbers. They are out there, just not big enough yet. I am trying to keep an eye on them and get them small so I can trow them into the fermenting crock right now.

  2. Victoria says:

    Yum. After surving our first 90 degree day of the season, I am so looking forward to all things cucumber. How far did the dill have to travel? Mine is still growing strong, but I’m considering a second planting.

    • I have some dill seed that I harvested last year, but couldn’t find it. The dill weed I used came from Mountain Rose Herbs. A wee bit too hot for dill right now. I usually plant it in the fall and again in the spring. The swallowtail butterfly worms really enjoyed mine this year, so I had nothing to harvest. That’s alright, I like the butterflies.

  3. Angela says:

    This looks delicious Emily! I never used to like cold soups, but I recently had a cold green veggie soup, and it was so good. I’ve decided I’m going to make gazpacho with home-grown ingredients this year, just need those tomatoes and cukes to mature.

  4. Monika {wcv} says:

    That cucumber soup looks so refreshing! I see a lot of pretty hot days in my future, and a raw cucumber soup will really hit the spot.

  5. Jes says:

    Cucumber soup with a side of tomatoes sounds incredibly refreshing! I can’t wait to make something like that when it’s warmer here. Hilariously enough, I forgot that it was a theme week. Whoops!

  6. Liz says:

    Cold soups are great. We got two cucumbers in the CSA today that might need this treatment. And, Jes, I forgot about the raw part of the theme this week too – the coleslaw post was just well timed! We made a dal that I will probably post about tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

