Not quite the stuffed peppers I had planned

There are a few short hours in the day when I will go outside to work. It is just too dang hot out there right now to be out in the heat of the day. Sunday the heat index was 105F. Today felt the same. My outside work hours are 7am – whenever I melt and then again in the evening around 7pm until it is too dark to see my hand in front of my face (around 9pm).

I call those hours my “golden hours.” I won’t answer the phone (usually), I won’t stop to make dinner. I just work outside until I just either can’t stand heat or it is just too dark to accomplish anything.

Last night we had a front go through. I was standing at the neighbors fence chatting about how the green beans and tomatoes are (or aren’t) producing and the wind picked up. I felt like Aunty Em trying to hold on to her skirt and apron. I looked around and didn’t see anything resembling a twister, so I kept on talking while enjoying the cooler breeze.

Then I had a text from my husband saying he was heading home. What? I mean that is great, but I have nothing completely finished for dinner (lots of bits and pieces ready to get a pan of stuffed peppers going, just all in separate bowls.)

not quite the stuffed peppers I had planned

I also had taken a bunch of lumber up to my other neighbors and he cut it for me to all the lengths I needed to make a bench to set pots on and another bench to sit on. Those were all piled on the deck and I had hoped to start working on those last night.

I kept on working outside, my husband came home and when I finally when in for the night I just spooned a bit of rice, a bit of ground meat, a bit of chopped green peppers, and the rest of some left-over grilled green peppers and zucchini all in a bowl. Poured over some left-over oil/vinegar/mustard dressing on top and heated it up. Dinner.

So much for my plans.The funny part is, this is not all that uncommon. I tend to throw things together based on what is in the refrigerator. I have plans to make the stuffed peppers earlier in the day… it just didn’t happen that way. Dinner was fine, in fact it was delicious and everything still waits in the refrigerator. I will get around to stuffing the peppers later today. There will be enough for several dinners and several lunches.

My neighbor (over the fence) gave me a HUGE bag of green beans last night. Green Beans will be on the menu for a few meals too.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Not quite the stuffed peppers I had planned

  1. Jane says:

    I dont ‘stuff’ the pepper either but cook it all in the same pan. I would go to all the trouble of making pretty stuffed peppers then when you put them on the plate you cut them up anyway. Same with stuffed cabbage. Hey, anything that is easier this time of year is better.

    So what was the wind from?

    • You are so right about the extra time involved. I will probably still stuff them today and cook them. I am toying with the idea of freezing some for later months when the peppers are long gone. The wind was from a front. There was a nice storm developing to the NE of us. Some one got rain, it just wasn’t us. It skirted our area, but the wind was cool and wonderful. Had the windows open last night, but this morning it was already too warm again and they are closed.

  2. Jes says:

    I need to get your work ethic! The evening hours just waste away, I need to get a little more productive. 105 heat index is more than enough impetuous, I guess. So hot!

    Your not-so-stuffed peppers look amazing, it’d be a treat to eat a dish like the one you whipped up on the fly!

    • Hi Jes, well, I don’t have any other commitments in the evening, except a meeting/group thing every now and then. I don’t do well in the heat, so I do what I can when it cools in the evening or mornings. I usually get foods ready throughout the day and will cook several things at one time to reduce the heat in the house. Lately with all the peppers, I am grilling them a lot and then they get thrown in with other things.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, Wish I could cook like you! I can’t seem to come up with things like that and need a recipe! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy, I learned to cook from my Gram and my mom. I never learned with recipes and I am so glad I learned that way. I usually have an idea of what I want to make, sometimes it just doesn’t turn out that way. More times then none, I hunt around the refrigerator and throw things together and most of the time it works out great.

  4. Pingback: SSFC: Stuffed Peppers – #4 | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

