A busy day

It seems I have a lot of things on my list. I was able to check a few things off the other day.

Roasted tomatoes and onions with garlic. Used some of my local Texas Olive Ranch olive oil.  The kitchen smelled wonderful. This is it for tomatoes out of the garden this year. All plants are pulled up.

Using Texas Olive Ranch olive oil

Next up was two batches of granola bars. They freeze well.

Granola Bars – done

I had a pile of pickling cucumber sitting on the counter (from farmers market) that needed to get added to the crock for fermenting. I already started some, so I just added more. I have started a post about the new crocks I have and what I am up too. There just doesn’t seem to be enough hours in the day right now. hopefully I will get it finished and posted in the next few weeks.

Pickling cucumbers

Fermenting cucumbers

The crock

Next – a batch of soap.

Soap in the mold

Last – shredded some zucchini. That will sit in brine overnight and I will finish by making more zucchini relish tomorrow….

shredding zucchini

I have a few more things on my list. I have several green tomatoes to use and I am planning to make green tomato chutney. Tons of peppers sitting on the counter also, so maybe I will pickle some more peppers.

What is keeping you busy these days?

Sincerely, Emily

 

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade, Little things, Miscellaneous, Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to A busy day

  1. Christine says:

    How busy you have been! I have some pomegranates to turn into pomegranate molasses and also some quinces. Every year I try to cook quince without success, this year I will try a recipe for candied quince.

  2. Jane says:

    Hey, you did order a crock! Glad to see your getting some use out of it 🙂

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, You are doing wonderful at preserving things! I am having health problems so not able to do as much as I would like to do right now altho our tomatoes and peppers won’t be ready for awhile. Hope they get me figured out soon and on the mend. Doctors are so slow! Enjoy all your wonderful produce! Nancy

  4. You sound super busy! (my tomatoes are just starting to flower….)

    • Just one of those days where there were too many things on the counter that needed attention. So nice to have them done. Your tomatoes will be ripe before you know it, while I am planning to re-plant at the end of July and hoping for a better crop. The rain really needs to cooperate or it will be a struggle again. We had a light rain the other day .2″ – it was nice, just not enough.

Leave a Reply

