Crocheting little dish squares

A few years ago I got back into knitting and crocheting. I took a great class and made a neat little robe for a baby doll and also crochets a few dish rags and a few scarves for the Special Olympics.

I liked crocheting the scarves because they went a lot faster, but they were a lot harder on my hand and wrist. The dishcloths were great for practicing different stitches and learning to actually read a pattern, but I wasn’t’ thrilled with them. They were too big and too thick.

I decided I would adjust my dishcloth size and make them smaller so they would work for me.

I now call them dish squares.

I don’t push myself to just get “one more row done.” I do a few rows at a time and my hand and wrist thank me for that.

Initially I made them double thickness thinking they would be too flimsy. Nope. Single thickness is perfect.

I have added a loop  (no photo) to each of them so that I can either hang them from the kitchen faucet or the reverse osmosis faucet and they dry well. They are made with all-cotton yarn so they dry well.

I am pleased with my little dish squares.

What size dish cloth do you like to use?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Crochet, Homemade, Projects and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Crocheting little dish squares

  1. Jane says:

    Very cute. I have a hemp yarn I use to make a scratchy square I sew to the dishcloth to make them two sided. Do you use yours for washing dishes or just wiping up?

    • Hi Jane – Your hemp scratchy squares sounds great. I mainly use my dish squares for washing dishes, but I guess I do use them for a final wipe down of the counter too. At the end of the day I hang them to dry and then they go into the laundry in the morning when they are dry and I get out a fresh one.

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, The ones are like to knit are probably about 8×8 inches. I use cotton yarn and cast on 4 stitches and increase to 42 stitches and then decrease. Tomorrow or the next day when I post again I will put a picture of one on. If you want the pattern I can give it to you. Very easy! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy – I have some like that (but I didn’t make them.) They seemed a bit bit for me, although I like using them on the counters and wiping up things. I look forward to seeing them.

  3. mariassecretgarden.blogspot.com says:

    I am lucky to have two of your little dish squares!

Leave a Reply

