SSFC: Cucumber Salsa – #5

This time of year, gardens around the northern hemisphere are starting to produce wonderful things. I am picking beautiful sweet and hot peppers from my garden and I am frequenting farmers markets for other fresh taste of summer.

I wanted to make an appetizer for our Herb Society meeting and I didn’t want to turn the oven on. I also wanted to use as many local ingredients as I could. Cucumber salsa came to mind.

Cucumber salsa

Cucumber Salsa

  • Cucumbers
  • Red Onion
  • Dill Weed
  • Feta Cheese

Quarter and de-seed your cucumbers. (It is up to you whether you want to peel them or not.) Chop them – the size of the pieces depends on you. I chop mine pretty finely.

Dice red onion.

Combine cucumber, red onion, dill weed and crumbled feta cheese.

Options: you can add a bit lemon juice and you can also add some minced mint if you want.

Serve with pita chips, crackers or tortilla chips.

This is such a cool and crisp snack. The first time I had it was in Burlingame, CA sitting in a back yard with a few friend enjoying the summer evening. Great memories.

Where did it all come from:

  • Cucumber: Martinez Farms (64 miles)
  • Red Onion: my garden
  • Dill weed: My neighbors garden
  • Feta: far, far away, and I could have made it myself !
  • tortilla chips: far, far away.

*You can click on the SSFC badge above to link to the other participants and see what they prepared for this weeks meal.

Sincerely, Emily

P.S.  I will be “unplugged” from technology for a few weeks, so you will not see you comment appear until I plug back in and get back in the swing of things. I look forward to reading your comments and will respond to each and every one of them.

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Herbs, Homemade and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

