SSFC: Cucumbers and Zucchini

Last week I was out of town and didn’t remember my camera cord, so… no downloaded photos and no SSFC post from me.

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I was, however, eating local while in Wisconsin and Minnesota.

The cucumbers are growing like gangbusters in my dad’s garden.

I made refrigerator pickles and stocked the house refrigerator in Minnesota as well as the lake refrigerator in Wisconsin. I also managed to fit as many cucumbers as I could into my luggage to bring back to Texas with me.

The zucchini is also growing well. I can almost say that I was green with envy, but really I was just happy to eat such wonderful things out of the garden. As I stood next to the zucchini plants I marveled at their height, with leaves standing 3+ feet off the ground.

We had grilled zucchini (forgot to take a photo) and sauteed zucchini and summer squash throughout the week and I made up some zucchini pickles for the refrigerator also.

Since I had Z E R O luck (again) with growing zucchini in the garden this spring, I have asked if my neighbor If I can plant some in his garden this fall. I will plant it, he will tend it, I will eat it (he doesn’t like it, but his wife does).  Since he does so well with my pepper plants, I think I might be onto something here! I will grow zucchini. I will grow zucchini. He will grow my zucchini!

What is growing in abundance for you right now?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Minnesota, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSFC: Cucumbers and Zucchini

  1. Jane says:

    Ha! Smuggling zucchini home. Although I am ready to start slipping cukes in peoples purses cause I can not eat or preserve one more.

    • I love smuggling veggies home. TSA loves it too. I always get the bag search. No biggie for me. Nothin’ to hide, just don’t bruise my zuc!. My backpack was full of cucumbers and zucchini and rhubarb!

  2. Jes says:

    Wish I could ship off most of my zucchini to you! We’re swimming in it (definitely only planing one plant next year, oy!) Love the cuke harvest; I’ve got pickling on my list for early this week!

    • For some reason I can’t grow a zucchini plant to save my life here. I am hoping the trick is to have my neighbor grow it. I need to get up there and plant some seeds and get them going.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    All that good food looks good! You must have inherited your gardening skills from your Dad! How nice of your neighbor to grow things for you! Nancy

    • I definitely got my green thumb and interest in plants and veg from my mom and my Gram. I am so glad I have learned so much from them. My mom doesn’t keep the veg garden anymore. She used to do the flower gardens and the veg, but dad does the veg now. Division of tasks makes it easier for them to keep it all going. And Yes, SO grateful that my neighbor is willing to tend the zucchini plants for me. The peppers plants he is growing for me are almost 5′ tall and producing like crazy. I am hoping the zucchini does the same! All I do is supply the seeds or seedlings and then go pick the stuff. Nice deal and he gets a kick out of growing stuff.

  4. Liz says:

    We are in squash overload time in NoVA. I might need to try some zucchini pickles! Those cucmbers look awesome!

Leave a Reply

