SSFC: Portabella Mushrooms w/wild rice & pork

I used to number my SSFC meals, but it seems I have lost track as the weeks go by.

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

This past week I went out to Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm and had a tour of their facility with a local garden club that I belong to. It was fantastic and I brought home 8 lbs of mushrooms (portabella and baby bella!)

I love simply grilling the portabella with olive oil and salt and pepper. Many times we will eat the either as a burger between a bun or just plain, allowing their wonderful flavor shine through. This week I got a bit more creative with them. I pulled some pork (from Bandera Grasslands) out of the freezer that I had already browned up with loads of fennel seed and added some Minnesota grown wild rice along with some chard from the garden. I also pulled some green onion tops from the freezer to add into the mix and topped it all off with a drizzle of balsamic vinegar (opps, not local at all!)

I’m going to call the Minnesota wild rice “local.” It is one of those things I bring back with me when ever I visit my parents. So, it was “local” to where I was when I bought it… that counts, right? Right! Well, we all make our own rules, so it works for me.

Back to my meal…. the meal was wonderful. I have many variations floating around in my head as different vegetables start to come into season; roast squash, shredded carrot, parsnips…. the list goes on and on.

Don’t forget to click on the SSFC badge at the top of the page and see what the other participants are making this week.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade, Local, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SSFC: Portabella Mushrooms w/wild rice & pork

  1. J. Searcy says:

    This looks so tasty! And the rice totally counts as local 🙂

  2. Victoria says:

    I was hoping you’d do something with mushrooms! Sadly we only get small batches of mushrooms through the CSA, unless I grow my own indoors 🙂

    • Chances are you will see a few mushroom related meals. I have a few more portabellas to use and then onto the baby bellas. Drooling as I think about it. I am gald you are able to get some through your CSA.

  3. sybaritica says:

    I love greens in rice … tonight is radish greens with Shiitake mushroom 🙂

Leave a Reply

