What is it with our cats and electrical cords?

Cinder likes to hang out behind the bed and up against the wall. It is a safe place and out of the way of foot traffic. For some reason she likes to lay directly on top of the power strip.

Cinder – using the alarm clock cord as a head rest

I had never seen her use the alarm clock cord as a head rest until now. My husband woke up in the middle of the night and through the power had gone off. I immediately knew what happened and explained it to him. Yup – Cinder had pulled the plug out of the socket.

Then, the other day, I was working outside on the deck and Kivuli decided he needed to help.

The rest of the deck is clear, but apparently this is “the” spot to be.

Maybe he is charging his batteries. I don’t know.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cats, Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What is it with our cats and electrical cords?

  1. Gina says:

    Kirby loved to lay on them as well, they are warm. The cord to the pond in the winter always has a mouse tunnel next to it and chew marks!

    • Ahhh, Kirby memories. Interesting about the mice. I think Kivuli does it just so he has a valid excuse to be moody around me. Another reason to bite me or something. And he just loves to be in the midst of a project, not missing anything (but ignoring me at the same time!) And the cord moves from time to time so I imagine he is just keeping an eye on his prey. Cinder, I don’t know, she is just funny about laying on it. I imagine the power strip is warm, but come on, it is 80 degrees in this house. I can’t imagine she is cold. Kivuli does tend to love the upstairs in the summer (at 90+ degrees) and still sleeps in his dog bed all curled up and toasty – old bones ya know. This winter I will probably have to find an electric blanket for him or he will freeze. ha

Leave a Reply

