Drying plastic bags

I am not using plastic storage containers any more. I made the switch to glass over a year ago.  I do find that I am still using zip-type bags for things. I haven’t bought any for a long long time because I wash and reuse them.

Beautiful colors

I find that I didn’t always have somewhere convenient to hang the bags to dry after I washed them. I used to hang them in the laundry room with clothespins from a hanger. Other times they get put over the to of a clean bottle. Another option is to just dry it straight away with a towel.

Looks interesting

I did not come up with this idea and I wish that I could remember where I saw it so I could give that person the proper credit.

Drying plastic bags

I love the colored glass blobs in the bottom of the jar, but the clear ones are nice too.  I couldn’t find my little bag of polished river rocks – I thought those would be nice. Shells, buttons, coins, or sand – really anything you want.  I had everything at home for the project. The little glass blobs (I am sure they have a proper name, I just don’t know what it is) I bought at a garage sale for .50 a bag. I always have canning jars. The dowels were out back in the shop (fair game, although it is always safe to ask first before assuming I can use it!)

I know this will draw some questions out of a few guests when the see it sitting on the counter or on top of the fridge when there are no bags on it. Kind of like the padlock we have on the chain of the hanging light above the kitchen table. There really is a GREAT explanation for that one too (sounds like a good post idea!)

I have used this bag-drying contraction many times now and like it a lot. I don’t like using the plastic bags, but I just haven’t found a way to avoid them completely.

Simple to make:

  • Dowels
  • canning jar or any jar you like
  • some sort of weight to keep the jar upright

For the larger bags I cut the dowels 19″

For the smaller bags I cut the dowels 17″

Have you found a clever way to reduce the amount of plastic bags you use?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Homemade, Miscellaneous, Projects and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Drying plastic bags

  1. Emily, growing up, my mother always washed and reused plastic bags and now I do too but I do find it hard to stop using them entirely. I mean, what can you put a loaf of home made bread into for storage? And if I can’t use the bag for additional food storage (I don’t like to use the ones I’ve put raw meat into even if I do wash it), I reuse it for my little trash container I have in my sink. Then I recycle all other plastic at the grocery store.

    • Hi Lorelei – I’m with you and do not reuse the ones that have meat in them. All the meat I buy now comes from local farmers and it is always wrapped in freezer paper and if there is left overs after dinner, they go into glass. Homemade bread is a tough one. Right now, mine goes in a plastic zip-bag, and it gets washed and re-used a lot.

  2. Jane says:

    I have seen those racks you can buy to dry the bags. That is a good idea and a DIY!

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    I also dry my bags by hanging them over whatever. I had seen an idea you could make similar to that but don’t know where it was now! If you find an alternative to using plastic bags let us know! I guess it doesn’t really matter what people think! Nancy

Leave a Reply

