It’s About Time: Kombucha!

Like many things, I have wanted to start brewing kombucha since I started hearing  about it a  few years ago. Well, I finally met the right person; someone to get a scoby from and I was off and running. It’s about time!

scoby ready to go into tea mixture

With my new scoby in hand I was ready to get started. I better back up a bit… what the heck is a scoby? You may remember from Miranda’s post about vinegar and its mother; it is a symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast  or scoby, and it turns a simple brew of tea and sugar into an amazing beverage. Kombucha is one of those wonders of the world I think. Chalk full of great stuff like beneficial enzymes and probiotics. Amazing things that will help with your entire body. Seriously, it is that good for you!

Head over to Not Dabbling in Normal to read more.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Homemade, It's About Time, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s About Time: Kombucha!

  1. Have you had it yet? Kombucha is on my list of things to figure out how to make!

    • HI Susan – YES! I have been making and drinking it for a month now. It is so so easy to make (once you have your scoby). I did a long post over at Not Dabbling in Normal with the recipe I use and a few things I have learned about brewing time. I wished we lived closer to each other because I would share a scoby with you.

  2. TJ says:

    Hi Emily: I started the brewing 2 month ago, the babies are multiplying….
    Do you have a good method to store those SCOBY(s), for rainy day?

    • Hi TJ – I store my extra scoby’s in pyrex bowl with a lid. It is the exact size as the scoby, they lay flat, and I just add the extra scoby’s as they multiply and store them all the refrigerator. I make sure they are completely covered my kombucha. I have two batches of kombucha brewing at a time, but I just keep saving more and more scoby’s. Today I finally composted 6 of them. It was time. I have spread the word in case someone is looking for a scoby, but with 2 new fresh ones every week I realize that I don’t need to stock pile so many. I will always keep a few and that will be enough.

      How have you been storing your extra scoby’s? Are you composting them after a while or what?

Leave a Reply

