SSFC: revisiting mushrooms (and stuffed peppers)

I have been talking about Kitchen Pride Mushrooms for a while now. I learned about KPMF over a year ago and have been seeking them out at a local farmers market to buy them. They are grown about 75 miles from my house, but that didn’t stop my from visiting their farm and arranging a tour for a local garden club that I am a member of.  It just seems like I can’t get enough of them and here I am talking about them again.

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I didn’t know (until KPMF told me) that September is Mushroom Month. Not only did they tell me about Mushroom Month, but they also wanted to send me a sampling of mushrooms as a thank you. They wanted to say thank you for helping to spread the word about Kitchen Pride Mushrooms.

Up until the gift box arrived I have been purchasing my mushrooms from them because I wanted to and I will continue to do so because I like supporting a local business and I really enjoy their mushrooms. This was the first gift I have received from them and they wanted me to know that it was just a gift, a thank you, and I was under no obligation to write about them or the gift.

I’m just a girl with a little blog that likes to talk about eating local food, sewing, my cats, plants and more and I will continue to tell you about the mushrooms from Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm because I like them. In fact, I am hoping to get over tot he farm in the next few weeks and pick up a load of mushroom compost to use in my gardens!

A few weeks ago I was talking on the phone with Kay who does public relations for KPMR and during our conversation I learned she had living in Minnesota for a while. Small world, I moved to MN when I was 10 year old. We talked about MN things and wild rice came up ad recipes using wild rice. One thing led to another and there I was making another version of stuffed peppers using wild rice and Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farms beautiful mushrooms. Thanks for the inspiration Kay!

What a local meal it was!

  • White button mushrooms – Kitchen Pride Mushrooms Farm
  • Wild rice – from MN (local when I bought it in MN)
  • Peppers – from the garden (still picking a lot of them)
  • Onion – from my garden, harvested this past spring
  • Cheese – used some that I made using local milk and some store bought (not local)

I love the earthy flavors that the mushrooms bring paired with the nutty flavor of the wild rice.

With mushrooms on my mind and in my fridge a few weeks ago, I have had some wonderful meals. I know next week I will post another one where mushrooms made an appearance.

Be sure to click on the SSFC badge at the top of this post to see what the other participants prepared this week.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cheese, Food, Garden, Homemade, Local, Minnesota and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSFC: revisiting mushrooms (and stuffed peppers)

  1. Angela says:

    Oh cool! I didn’t know September was mushroom month either, and how nice of KPMF to send you a token of gratitude. That’s something I love about eating locally — getting to speak with the farmers/growers/ranchers of the food I buy. In this case–your local mushroom hunters! Your dish looks fantastic too.

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    So Sept. is National Mushroom month! I didn’t know that either. Your stuffed peppers sure look good and those mushrooms look so yummy. What a nice company to deal with. Nancy

    • HI Nancy. I did like using the mushrooms in the stuffed peppers with the wild rice. I think my favorite way to eat mushrooms is just plain sauteed in butter. Just thinking about it makes me drool.

  3. Victoria says:

    Looks like we both had mushrooms on our mind 🙂 sadly I don’t get them by the box like you!

  4. Pingback: SSFC: Pizza with mushrooms, zucchini and eggplant | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

