Just plain busy…

I have just been plain busy lately with meetings, garden clubs, working in the back yard, preserving this and that, etc. etc. etc…

I have been working on a few Christmas presents. (will post about it as we get closer to Christmas)

I have finally created a barbeque sauce that I like to put in my baked beans. (will do a post about it… one day soon)

Cooking for the culinary group I am in. Our theme was Northern European cuisine last week. I made a traditional Scottish  soup: Orange & Carrot Soup. It was good.

I stopped in a new little shop that is specializing in local and Texas growing produce and other local things. (will get a post together on that too… soon) It is a neat place and 7 miles from my house!

Made pancakes to stick in the freezer.

Even though I have been busy, I am thankful for the opportunity to be able to do all these neat things.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Homemade, Homemade Holiday, Local, Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Just plain busy…

  1. I was at that cute little store yesterday too buying tomatoes and going back today to get eggs (they didn’t have any yesterday)!

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Will look forward to your post about making Christmas items! It will be here before we know it! Glad you can be busy and get so much done! Nancy

    • You are right Nancy, Christmas will be here before we know it! I am happy to be getting a few things made and ready right now. I will have to be careful about what a reveal before Christmas, because some of those recipients stop by and read what I am writing about from time to time… I have to be sneaky about it I guess.

  3. narf77 says:

    I wish we had little stores like that here in Australia! We don’t make enough of our home grown produce and farmers markets are few and far between. I like the idea of being able to buy someone elses carefully tended excess and feeding back into the local economy. Bollocks to the supermarket giants! Give me a sun kissed tomato any day!

    • I equate it to a little side-of-the-road farm stand. I really don’t see those here in South Texas like I do up in the northern states were I grew up. Sometimes I will see a truck on the side of the road with the tailgate down selling things, but you just never know when they will be there or really where the stuff is from.

      • narf77 says:

        We have one little shop that doesn’t have much most of the time but its actually a “take what you want” shop that doesn’t charge and is at the front of a large vinyard run by an eccentric American man. If we lived on any sort of a thoroughfare we would put one down the front here. I could offload some plants and once we get under production with veggies I could put some down there to. I would put eggs there as well but we aren’t allowed to sell them in Tasmania unless we have a license (that somehow makes them fresher and better quality even though all you do is bung them the money and they never inspect once! ;)). I wouldn’t trust tailgate sellers aside from the lady accross the Batman bridge here who sells her fresh stone fruit over Christmas to the tourists…she lives off the beaten path as well ;). We are lucky to get cherries at Christmas time here along with all of our stone fruits and berries 🙂

Leave a Reply

