A new toy!

I have been fairly indecisive about what type of grain grinder I wanted to get. Do I get a manual hand-crank one? How about a Nutrimill? Then there is Vitamix. Well, I don’t like to jump in to a big purchase like that, so I have been thinking about it for over two years now.

At first I wanted the manual hand-crank variety. It made sense to me. I wouldn’t need electricity (even though I have it.) Then there was the Nutrimill. I have taken a few bread classes from a wonderful woman who used a Nutrimill to grind and a Bosch to do all the kneading and mixing and I was instantly attracted to both! She has a large family and bakes many loaves of bread at a time, where at my home there is usually just 2 of us. Then came the Vitamix. My neighbors have one and we make smoothies throughout the summer with it. I am always amazed at how well it does on those big ice cubes. My blender just laughs at me if I try something like that.

Head over to Not Dabbling in Normal to read my entire post.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new toy!

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    I was wondering which one you would choose! Suspense! I don’t have a grain grinder. Haven’t decided for sure if I would use it enough or not as everything takes times! Enjoy! Nancy

  2. Jes says:

    Yay for a Vitamix! I’m over the moon with mine! I didn’t buy the extra blade for grinding grain (might do so if I get into that in the future), but for smoothies and sauces and soups I can’t believe how amazing it is. Such a fun & useful toy–can’t wait to see what else you whip up with it.

Leave a Reply

