SSFC: Pizza with mushrooms, zucchini and eggplant

Last weeks wild rice and mushroom stuff peppers where fantastic, but I still had mushrooms from Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm to use (and love) so I decided to make a quick pizza, focusing on local ingredients

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I still haven’t made my own pitas, they are one of those things on my “list” and will eventually make it to an “It’s About Time” post, but until then I have found some pitas made in Austin, TX that I can get at Green Fields Market and I used the pitas as a pizza crust. They are from a company called Phoenicia Bakery & Deli. What I like about their pitas is that they are only made with 5 ingredients – Whole wheat flour, water, yeast, sugar and salt. That’s it, no preservatives. I know it isn’t organic, I know the ingredients aren’t local, but the company is and I love that they are now adding in all the unnecessary extra stuff. I will make my own pitas one day, but until them I am happy to find these in my area and stock them in the freezer.

For the sauce I used roasted tomatoes and onions I had frozen from last years garden and added in some herbs from the garden -basil, oregano, thyme, chive.

For cheese I used some store bought and some monterey jack that I made using local milk.

For toppers, I added fresh baby bella mushrooms from the wonderful gift package that I mentioned last week from Kitchen Pride Mushroom Farm. Oh, they are so so good!

What else when on top? Grilled zucchini from my step dad’s garden (mom brought those with her from MN.) I also grilled up an eggplant I got from a friends CSA box. I didn’t get a chance to find out what farm they are from.

I normally make a freeze pizza crusts to have on hand for quick pizzas. The pita made a perfect small pizza for one person and it was nice to have another alternative. It was a great, quick pizza.

Do you have a routine for quick homemade pizzas?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Cheese, Food, Garden, Homemade, Local, Minnesota and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SSFC: Pizza with mushrooms, zucchini and eggplant

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    Hi Emily, Your pizza looks so yummy. Great to find the healthy pitas. Will check out the recipe for your frozen pizza crusts! Nancy

  2. Jes says:

    Pita pizzas are great! I love to make them for easy meals–and yours looks amazing with the fresh mushrooms & zucchini!

Leave a Reply

