Photos: In other gardens (and mine)

Just wanted to share some neat photos from other peoples gardens.

Ruellia, bougainvillea & cactus

interesting cactus

A little surprise in my garden. A friend gave me a plant this spring. she couldn’t remember what it was but kept telling me it was a salvia. It didn’t look like a salvia to me and had no fragrance to the leaves, but I planted it anyway. It still didn’t look like a salvia, but I kept it alive throughout the hot summer. I was pulling weeds and cleared the area around it and low and behold… I know exactly what it is now…. American Beautyberry.

A surprise – American Beautyberry

It is beautiful. Now I need to move it to a place it will grow bigger and better. It needs a spot to spread and shade from our hot Texas summer sun. It also requires a bit more water than other plants. I need to figure out where I will move it to.

What a fun surprise!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Flowers, Garden, Texas Natives (plants) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Photos: In other gardens (and mine)

  1. narf77 says:

    A very pretty surprise! Lots of Tasmanian natives have something purple about them. I wonder what purple flowers and fruit stand for? They must mean something! Probably “stay away from me I am poisonous” šŸ˜‰

    • The American Beautyberry won’t be planted in my front yard because the deer love the leaves! It also prefers a moist soil, so I am not sure hot it will do in my yard. I need to find a place with shade where I can get more water to it and I will heavily mulch it to help retain some of that moisture. Purple is a favorite of mine. I have a garden that is all purples and whites (still adding to it) but it gets too much sun for the plant. The berries and seeds attract the birds, while the flowers attract butterflies and bees. The Native Americans used the roots and leaf in baths for rheumatism and a few other things.

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    I had never heard of the American Beautyberry. Thanks for the interesting information. Nancy

Leave a Reply

