Bedknobs and Broomsticks

Several years ago when my mom and I were sorting through “stuff,” we came across a lunch box. This wasn’t just any ordinary lunch box, this was the lunch box I used as a child, or so my mom told me. It is a Bedknobs and Broomsticks lunch box. I did not remember it specifically at all. We used to walk home for lunch but on Wednesday’s we would stay at school for lunch, so I would have used it on Wednesday’s. I sort of remember using a lunch box, but not the theme at all. That amazes me because I am  really good at remembering things. Why did I not remember this lunch box? No idea!

My mom told me that when I was young, my favorite movie was Bedknobs and Broomsticks and she said I really liked my lunch box to match. I guess that makes sense.

I now have the lunch box sitting on top of our freezer in Texas. It is in really real good shape, complete with an intact thermos (until I managed to drop it.) Seriously, I have a good memory and I am really careful with things, what is going on here? Still have no idea! A few months ago when my niece came to visit, I borrowed a few kid-friendly movies from a friend. As I was looking through her movies and making my choices I came across Bedknobs and Broomsticks! It came home with me and I had a chance to watch it.

I really had no memory of the movie, but as I watched it I remembered bits and pieces. The more I watched it I could see why I would have been enamored by it. A real-life witch, flying on a real-life mail-order broomstick. A chant and you turn someone into a rabbit. A special room for potions and which books. I like the sound of that.

I imagine I ran around with my hands in the air repeating the chants from the movie, trying to turn my brother into a rabbit. My brother was cute, but I can imagine, at times, I would have liked a rabbit better.

I plan to watch the movie again before I return it. What fun.

Did you grow up taking a lunch box to school?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bedknobs and Broomsticks

  1. Jane says:

    Not only do I not remember that movie, but I do not remember what kind of lunch box I had. I know I had one. BUT I can remember the little purse I had in kindergarden. Needless to say I have had a lifelong love affair with purses 🙂

    I read your comment you left on my blog the other day. It came through my email ok, but for some reason it is nowhere to be found on my blog! Weird. Sometimes blogger can be strange. So just know that I did not delete it. And I was thinking that Texas would be the best place to grow the loofah for the longest growing season.

    • Hi Jane – Purse and boots – you can add boots to your list. Funny about the comment. My loofah’s did great last year. Definitely a nice long growing season for them down here. I guess that is a plus to a long hot summer. UGH!

  2. Tom Stewart says:

    Nope, Just a plan old brown paper bag with my name on it. But I remember “Bed Knobs and Broomsticks”! In fact I have it on DVD and I watch it several times a year! I hope you are the only one who reads this, A 59 year old man in love with a witch (and a movie!) LOL
    Tom

Leave a Reply

