I got it from my mom

I know why I save everything. I learned that from my mom. I was visiting her this past summer  and wanted to make up some laundry detergent for them and asked for borax. She went into another room and this is what she brought back for me to use.

I think it is older than I am.

No matter its age. It still works. However…

I wouldn’t recommend using it on your cell phone. Yup, I spilled it all over the face of my cell phone. I can’t imagine how I managed to not get it all over the keyboard.

In the end, there wasn’t enough borax in my mom’s ancient antique borax tin to make laundry soap, so she dug around and found another old box tucked in on of the cupboards.  I laughed, because I recognized the old tin and I also recognized the old box of borax too. Even though they were old, they still worked and still get used from time to time.

The laundry detergent was made. The ancient, antique, really cool boraxo tin, was put away (she keeps in under the kitchen sink and still uses it.) And my cell phone still works. My mom saves everything and all is well. Seeing this ancient, antique tin of borax made me chuckle.

Do you ever come across something at your parents house that makes you chuckle?

Sincerely, Emily

P.S. My mom really doesn’t save everything anymore and neither do I, but it is kind of neat when she pulls out stuff like that old tin or borax.

This entry was posted in Little things, Minnesota, Miscellaneous and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to I got it from my mom

  1. Amazing! What, no recipe?

  2. narf77 says:

    My parents were both hoarders…I think people of my parents age hoarded because they were born just after the last world war when things were still tight and rationing was prevalent. I have seen hoarders on the tv going nuts for hoarding just about everything but my parents managed to keep a lid on their hoarding and limit it to plastic recyclable containers and in dads case, rusty old nails and screws and “stuff” in the garage. After they died we all had to wade through their hoarded things and suddenly little rusty screws became incredibly poignant reminders of how we humans go on. I think that saving things is a measure of hope for the future. I love that borax tin! 🙂

    • That’s what I will call it “hope for the future” when I save something. I like that. I did get some of my stock piling tendencies from my Gramps. When he was able to save, he would put another bar of soap on the shelves, toilet paper or tinned food. When he had enough money, he still continued to do that and I remember the neatly organized shelves in the basement.

      • narf77 says:

        Your Gramps wasn’t hoarding, he was making food futures. My parents saves plastic containers, jars of nails and screws that were too rusty to use and when we inherited Serendipity Farm we had to get rid of trailer loads of hoarded “stuff” that dad filled his shed with that was of no use to anyone and we try to reuse and recycle as much as we can! I guess it’s a different age and people change along with society. Steve accuses me of hoarding small bowls…he mistakes hoarding with loving ;). I think I would rather have extra toilet paper and tinned food than a jar full of rusty nails ;). We did inherit tinned food from dad…it was about 5 years out of code. That rode on the top of the rest to the local tip! 🙂

      • Oh Ya, he had a trading post and it was FILLED with cans of rusty nails and stuff. It was also filled with a lot of antiques and collectibles from trading over the years. One time someone traded some live chickens for gas (his trading post was a gas station too.) I will have to get some of the photos of his place posted one of these days. I have great memories of sitting at his big roll-top desk with all the cubby holes filled with papers and the fishing lures hung all around. He had a tendency to hang things – that way people could see the item and there was already stuff crammed in every other corner and open floor space. It was a cool place.

      • narf77 says:

        A treasure trove! I love fossicking through treasure troves 🙂 I would LOVE to see your photos and I dare say so would lots of other readers 🙂

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Now aren’t you glad your Mom saved that Borax! I have read that homade soap makes some people whites look dingy. Evidently you don’t have that problem? Glad your cell phone was okay! Nancy

    • Some of our things get a bit dingy. Especially some of the lighter colored dish towels. I just soak them in a 5-/50 mix of hydrogen peroxide and water. we don’t have a lot of white clothes, so I can’t speak for those.

  4. Sherman says:

    When we make laundry detergent next time, I’m going to try heating the water a little hotter than it comes out of the faucet and whisking in the washing soda and borax before I put it in my container to see if that helps with the settling. We like this so much better than anything you can buy in the laundry detergent aisle and it’s saving a lot of money!

    • Sherman – that is important. Go check out the recipe and directions that I link to. You DO want to heat it part of the water on the stove-top and dissolve your shredded bar soap first, then add your washing soda and borax. Then stir, stir, stir until it is completely dissolved (this takes some time, but not a lot.) Once you have that done you can add it to your larger bucket and add hot hot tap water and stir to incorporate it. In that second part, if you want to add hotter water, that’s fine. I have found hot hot tap water to work fine in that second part, but then again, it depends on how hot it is I guess. If I do have separation I just give my jug a bit of a shake before I add it to the washer.

  5. Pingback: Another phone photo | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

