SSFC: Cheese curds, etc.

Somehow, I spaced out Monday and my SSFC post. Let’s pretend it is Monday again.

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I spent that past week in Minnesota and Wisconsin and during that time I ate a tone of local foods. Several meals included my step-dad’s squash. Do you remember my “Sea of Squash” photo from a few months ago? Here is a small fraction of what was harvested.

Their garden is done for the year so we were eating up bits and pieces from their final harvests. Chard made its way into most of our meals. So did the last of the zuchhini, bell peppers, and beets.

One thing that my mom buys before I arrive is cheese curds. We grew up eating cheese curds in Wisconsin. That was before you ever found them on any restaurant menu deep fried when they were just cheese curds.

If you have an opportunity to eat a really fresh cheese curd, it will squeak when you eat it. I know that doesn’t make sense, but if you have had that experience, then you know exactly what I mean.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cheese, Food, Garden, Minnesota, Wisconsin and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to SSFC: Cheese curds, etc.

  1. Jane says:

    They have fried cheese curd at restaurants? We have fried mozzerella sticks, but that is it. You southerns will fry anything ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • No, we don’t have deep fried cheese curds in Texas – or at least I haven’t seen them on any menu. I have only seen them up in the Midwest. Sort of like mozzarella sticks – the same concept. So apparently the Southerns don’t fry everything. ha

  2. narf77 says:

    The son and heir recently brought back a Texan girlfriend and as much as she loves it here in Australia, there must be a degree of loss concerning the food that she ate over there. I wonder if cheese curds are easy to make? I dare say its a long and convoluted process but I can get hold of fresh (raw) milk…hmmmm now you have me thinking ๐Ÿ™‚ Time for an internet hunt ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Hi Fran – I have never seen cheese curds in the store like I do in MN or WI, but I can order them when I order milk. Do you have any idea what specific foods is she missing from Texas? I am just curious what foods she is missing.

      • narf77 says:

        Kelsey is missing the amazing range of chillis that you can get along with the Tex Mex things that she was used to just picking up from the shops. She is living in the heart of Melbourne (if you know Melbourne?) so isn’t short of a good restaurant and they are right next to the Melbourne Markets so its not hard for them to get fantastic ingredients. The son and heir is a great cook so they are having fun eating their way around the world but I would imagine she is mostly missing being able to go to the store and buy off the shelf things that we simply don’t have here. I read a lot about things like chipotle in adobo and the only way we are going to get that, let alone the chipotle part of it is to make it all ourselves. You guys have so many ingredients that you all take for granted! I remember once someone in the vegan community talking about custard powder and everyone asking where to get it and they couldnt and thinking “HA! Finally I HAVE something that you guys don’t!”. Kelsey wanted to make smores on a bonfire that we had here when she came over but couldn’t find the right chocolate (Hershey’s) or the right crackers (Graham) or even the right marshmallows (ours are all small and a different consistency apparently) so it took all of the fun out of it. I think she is discovering that a foreign country is just that! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t think that she minds though because the food over here is amazing and varied, just not like home ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. yourothermotherhere says:

    We used to go right to the dairy when they were cutting the cheese in the open vats and get curds. They were absolutely delicious and there were never any leftover. I know exactly what you mean about them squeaking against your teeth! So good!!!

Leave a Reply

