SSFC: Mid-day Pita sandwich

The summer SSFC is winding down and this is the last post until we re-group and start posting again throughout the dark days of winter (a starting date is yet to be determined.)

Click on the this badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I have been packing the freezer with peppers and shredded zucchini leaving no empty spots for anything. Each time I open the freezer I have to put a guarded hand up to catch anything that starts to fall out. This is not good! I was doing so well at eating out of the freezer and spaces were opening up left & right – until I started putting peppers and zucchini in there. Sigh…

Staying on track and eating out of the freezer, I thawed some venison and pork to do some power grilling for future meals throughout the week. I also pulled out a bag of chicken bones and started a pot of chicken stock too. I love making more than one meal at once, it saves time and energy.

After grilling the pork chops, I cut the meat off the bones. Since I already have chicken stock well under way on the stove, the pork bones can wait for a later date. Into the freezer they go. Sign…

Keeping my mid-day meal simple I made a quick pita sandwich. I realized half-way through eating it that I could have added some chard. Oh well, it was still good.

Where did it all come from:

You can click on the SSFC badge at the top of the page to link to see what others are cooking up for the last post for this summer challenge.

Are you searching out more local food in your area?

Sincerely, Emily

 

 

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Local and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSFC: Mid-day Pita sandwich

  1. narf77 says:

    You clever girl! You made the cheese? I WISH I could make cheese…we have a dairy just around the corner from Serendipity Farm and I dare say I could filch some whole raw milk from them if I batted my eyelids a bit (and the fact that they are related to a reprobate mate of ours doesn’t hurt either…). I hold people who make everything from scratch in high esteem. Consider yourself held up 🙂

    • Thanks Fran. I make a lot of stuff and cheese is one of them. Yogurt and yogurt cheese are the easiest. Making the hard cheese is a commitment. I have a little fridge just aging the cheese and the waiting is the hardest part!

      • narf77 says:

        Do you blog about your cheese making? I have a blog in my rss feed reader about an Australian man who makes cheese. I have always wanted to give it a go as Steve adores cheese. I make my own vegan cheezes but its not really the same ;). I love the idea about making as much as we can from scratch to be as frugal as we can and to be able to customise whatever we like. I have found some fantastic recipes and sites that share this precious knowledge and yours is one of them. Cheers for sharing so freely at least some of us totally appreciate your hard efforts 🙂

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    It is a nice problem to have a freezer full!!! You are always cooking interesting things. Nancy

    • Nancy, Good and bad to have the freezer so full. The bad part is that I want to stuff more stuff in there and can’t! I seem to constantly have a counter full of peppers, so I really need to buckle down and can them now since I can’t get anymore in the freezer. ha

  3. Victoria says:

    Delicious. Now I’m hungry for lunch!!

Leave a Reply

