Sailing

A friend of ours asked us to go sailing on Saturday. He had just finished restoring the sailboat that he grew up with and has had it in the water a few months now. As luck had it, my husband had the day off so we all met at the marina. I grew up around sailboats, but I have not been sailing since the mid-80’s when my mom, step-dad, 2 step-sisters and I went sailing for a week on Lake Michigan. The weather was sunny, warm and really quite perfect… except we had a hard time finding any decent wind. It was still a great day.

My mom will laugh when she sees this post because we just finished looking at piles of slides, many of which were from 1960’s and 70’s when my mom and dad did a lot of sailing and racing. Slide after slide of sailboats and sailboats. We both commented that it has been years since we were on a sailboat… and here I was,  just a few weeks later, on a sailboat.

Have you been sailing lately?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sailing

  1. narf77 says:

    The last time I went out sailing was 2008 on Christmas Day when my dad took us all out sailing and we ate our Christmas lunch on his yacht in the heat :).

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    How fun! Did your parents ever takek part in the Pt. Huron to Mackinaw Sailboat Race? We are from Pt. Huron and it is always fun to go down and view all the sailboats that come in for that. Nancy

Leave a Reply

