Mother of Thousands: Kalanchoe daigremontiana crassulaeae

Basically, once you have one, you have a thousand (or a million!)

Mother of Thousands:  Kalanchoe daigremontiana crassulaeae. Also know as: mother of millions, alligator plant, Mexican hat plant, devils backbone. It produces little platelet babies along the margin of each leaf. Each of those make a new plant.

Category:
Cactus and Succulents

Height:
36-48 in. (90-120 cm)

Spacing:
36-48 in. (90-120 cm)

Hardiness:
Varies between 25-40F

Sun Exposure:
Sun to Partial Shade – filter light in my area (South Texas)

Danger:
All parts of plant are poisonous if ingested

Bloom Color:
Pink
Magenta (Pink-Purple)
Orange

Foliage:
Evergreen
Variegated
Smooth-Textured

Other details:
Light – average water needs, but do not over-water. Can be drought tolerant. Protect from frost. All parts of this plant are poisonous.

This is my first summer growing this plant. I now have babies coming up in nearly every pot that is within a foot radius of each “mother” plant. Those babies are easy to pull up and transplant into other pots to share or swap, or just pull them out because I have WAY too many to begin with.

I had one plant that was about 2 feet tall that I just chopped off, pulled a few leaves off the bottom and stick it in another pot. It’s doing just fine. A friend plants several real close together in a low round pot and they grow and fill in very nicely. They also look good in a succulent container – using them in the center because of their height.

Mine plants have not bloomed, but I don’t mind, they are a pretty plant just they way they are.

Do you have a Mother of Thousands? Do you want one? (or 10!) If you live in my area I am more than happy to share. It’s a gift that keeps on giving!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Mother of Thousands: Kalanchoe daigremontiana crassulaeae

  1. I’m bringing one to the swap on Tuesday! With a picture of the flower.

  2. narf77 says:

    I had one but it died in the frost. It took its babies with it 😦

    • Oh Fran, that is too bad. Yup, the front will kill it. Can you easily get another one? I have to remember to bring a few inside so I can have them next year. My neighbor has some that will go in her green house, so I can always get more. Now I know a handful of people that have them. One of us is bound to get one through the winter months.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    That is an interesting plant for sure! I couldn’t have one tho because Coco might eat it! Nancy

Leave a Reply

