Zucchini “Crab” Cakes (or fritters)

Yes, you are right, there is a bit of theme going on here… zucchini (courgette!) I just picked 2 more the other day and still have a few on the counter. By far, the easiest way for me to prepare zucchini for dinner is to grill it. Truthfully, that is what ends up happening most of the time.

Sometimes, I have time to experiment. Other times I stick with a tried and true way to prepare it, like Zucchini “Crab” Cakes.

  • 1½ cup shredded zucchini, patted dry
  • 1 cup bread crumbs
  • 2 tbsp grated onion
  • 2 tbsp all- purpose flour
  • 1 tbsp mayonnaise
  • 1 tsp old bay seasoning
  • 2 eggs slightly beaten
  • Oil for frying

Combine all the ingredients.
Heat oil for frying.
Drop spoonful into fry pan & flatten with spatula or form patty in hand, then drop in pan.
Fry until crisp brown.
Serve with tarter sauce (optional)

YUM!

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zucchini “Crab” Cakes (or fritters)

  1. narf77 says:

    At least you GOT some zucchini this year…we are going to have an enormous quanitity if I am not mistaken and I might have to shred and dehydrate a heap of it to add to the dogs food along with working out all sorts of ways to include it in what we are eating 🙂

  2. HI Fran. I am thrilled to FINALLY have zucchini. I talked to my neighbors a few nights ago and made a plan to wait until fall and plant again (skip Spring and hopefully skip the dreaded squash vine borer) They are having such a great time watching them grow, they have never seen anything like it. I giggle and come home with a few more zucchini each time.

    I like your idea of shredding and dehydrating it to add to dog food. My cats turn their noses up at most things, although Kivuli is “requesting” a bit of what ever meat we are eating and even came and sat patiently and “requested” some of the potatoes I was mashing. I made an offering and he ate it! The next day he wasn’t so interested in the mashed potatoes, but the turkey has been a hit.

    I add shredded zucchini to our pasta sauce also. Raw on salad is good too. Cut in spears for veggie dip.

Leave a Reply

