Drying Herbs

I have been drying many batches of oregano for the past month and our humidity has been low so it is drying quickly.

I always pick my herbs in the early morning after any dew or moisture has dried. My pans are heaping when they are freshly snipped and I am always amazed as the oregano dries it is such a small heap.  Once the oregano is completely dry, I strip the leaves from the stems and store them in glass jars. I do no crumble the leaves until I am ready to use them because it helps retain more of the oils and flavor.

As I was making my herbed bread to use as stuffing for last weeks thanksgiving meal, I ran out of dried sage. That’s ok. I have plenty of fresh sage growing out back. Sage is one of the plants that grows really well here in South Texas. It can handle the full sun, it needs very little water, it has beautiful lavender blooms each spring, and the deer won’t touch it.

I love love love taking photos of sage. The texture is so beautiful. I picked a lot of sage and some of it went straight into my bread, some was chopped and added as the onion and celery were being sauteed for the stuffing, and some was set aside to dry for another time. The sage leaves are much thicker than other herbs, so they take a lot longer to dry.

Do you dry some of your own herbs?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden, Herbs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Drying Herbs

  1. Sheryl says:

    I definitely dry some of my herbs – this year, I dried oregano, cilantro and Italian parsley. A few years back a friend gave me a huge bag full of fresh sage, and I dried most of it – you’re right, it does take awhile! 🙂 I like your tip about not crumbling the leaves until just before you use them.

    • Hi Sheryl. thanks for stopping by. I know you are already experiencing snow in your neck for the woods, but we are just getting into cooler temps that bring the cilantro and parsley growing season here. I love the winter veg garden and the cooler weather herbs too.

  2. Liz says:

    I have dried rosemary as I have a whole bush of it just outside the front door. Like you, I strip the leaves once they are dry but don’t crumble them until it’s time to cook. I’d like to dry some other herbs but … I need to grow them first!

    • HI Liz, Oh I LOVE drying rosemary. It also grows really well here and I have several huge bushes. I think I will even plant a few more too. I love the smell of fresh rosemary and often snip some to just bring inside and enjoy. Rosemary is one of the herbs I dry a lot of because it grows in abundance and it is a great herb gift.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Those sage leaves are so pretty! I need to dry oregano next year! This year I dried thyme, chives and parsley. Isn’t it fun to dry herbs! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy. I agree, sage has such beautiful leaves. I really enjoy growing the herbs and drying them to use later. I use a lot of ours fresh because they grow year round (thyme & oregano.) The temps have finally cooled enough for the Italian parsley to sprout (re-seeded itself from last year) and the cilantro & dill are growing well too.

  4. narf77 says:

    There is a plant and fruit stand on the way to one of the beaches that we walk our dogs on locally. It is stocked by people who are living a permaculture sustainable lifestyle and they use the money that they make from the stand to help third world causes. I like to support them and they allow you to pay what you think the product is worth. I would imagine the honesty gives them more money in their cash tin. I buy small newspaper pots of sage and chives there. Now that we finally have some veggie gardens on Serendipity Farm I planted out 3 sage plants and 2 chive clumps and they are going great guns. The property is overrun with oregano as the dry conditions and the rocky hilly state of the place are ideal for oregano. It thinks it is in the old country! (Greece) and grows like topsy. I must transplant some into some tyres as its golden oregano and looks really pretty. I have plans for using tyres to grow all sorts of herbs in and will be posting about it soon. Cheers for this wonderful post…you just reminded me to transplant some of that oregano 🙂

    • Hi Fran, the plant and fruit stand you talk about sounds like a neat place to stop by. Oregano does well here too and I have some that I started off one of my plants that I need to get into the ground and let it get some good roots going before the heat of our summer comes back. The oregano on your property sound perfect for transplanting and filling in here and there. Sounds like the possums and wallaby’s leave it alone.

Leave a Reply

