My neighbor’s wooden toys

A few weeks ago I helped a neighbor set up a table to sell some of his handmade wooden toys at a local craft show.

He has made wooden toys for close to 25 or 30 years and loves to give them as gifts, but this was the first time he has tried to sell them. A friend of his, that also works with wood, talked to him about sharing a booth so my neighbor could give it a try and see what would happen. I made signs and at the last minute grabbed a sheet to cover the table. It was a cool day, and the wind was kicked up a bit, but we had our jackets and we were fine. The crowd was a bit thin, but he did manage to sell 2 of his flying ducks and two wooden toys. I encouraged him to try another craft show from time to time in other parts of our community and I offered to help him. In fact, it might have me searching through my inventory of beaded things that I used to make and sell and set-up right along side him. I bet we would be the only booth selling beaded jewelry, wooden toys, flying ducks, gourds and soap! I did see a few beaded jewelry booths, but no soap or gourds.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to My neighbor’s wooden toys

  1. Dani says:

    How lovely – he makes stunning toys!!!!

    I have kept all my children’s wooden toys from their childhood (for my future grandchildren) as I feel that the touch of something natural has got to be far more pleasurable / simulating for little hands / minds than the over abundance of plastic rubbish which is called toys today. Does your neighbour have a blog / website where he sells his toys? Depending on price / weight (for shipping) I might be interested in buying some 🙂

    Now that’s a clever idea – combine your crafts to one outlet to attract a wider audience 🙂

    • Hi Dani – The toys your children played with sound wonderful and well made, and well worth saving for future generations.

      My neighbor (80 yo) barely uses email and I have a few websites bookmarked for him but that is about it, because it just isn’t his cut of tea. I did get him signed up for Netflix (which he loves) and I have that set up as his home page so it just loads and he can get to it (and I can get into it from my computer if he has a problem). So, no blog, no on-line anything.

  2. Go for it Emily! I know you must have a huge stash! Your neighbor’s wooden toys are beautiful!

    • Hi Liz, oh I am partially afraid to open my box of inventory. I have sold some of it, but I know there is still fun stuff still in there. I do have a HUGE stash of beads! YIKES! I even have a mini-project I want to work on. It has been too long.

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    I love wooden toys. How nice of you to help him and good luck on your own booth! Nancy

  4. narf77 says:

    Who doesn’t need soap and gourds? I am even thinking about trying to grow some gourds here and letting them hurtle over the chook pen…next year for sure ;). I haven’t tried making soap yet but am thinking I might give it a go and those wooden toys are beautiful. I can’t help but think that they would go really well with an online presence on a website or etsy etc. where they would be appreciated by the right audience. Sometimes selling things at markets doesn’t work because people go to markets to get cheap things. We couldn’t sell our trees etc. locally at a market because everyone wants plants for $2 and some of our trees have taken 3 years to get to where they are and the seeds alone cost 5 times that much! You have to judge you market and market to the right people. Etsy is a definate way to go for these quality made gorgeous wooden toys (and your beads…soap and gourds too 😉 )

    • Hi Fran. I hope you have great success growing gourds. I missed growing the loofah’s this year and will get them going next year with some other gourds too.

      Unfortunately, I know all too well about selling things at markets. You are right, most of the buyers are looking for inexpensive and that was hard with my more intricate beadwork! I had some great markets and others that weren’t so great. Some of the fine art shows I did brought it the right clientele and that was great to sell a truly beaded necklace and have someone appreciate the work and the work of art and pay for it. Those shows were too few and far between.

  5. Pingback: My neighbor’s toys (2) | Sincerely, Emily

  6. Pingback: Benches: Garden, plant, potting | Not Dabbling In Normal

  7. Pingback: Continuing with D… Desk and Datura | Not Dabbling In Normal

Leave a Reply

