SSFC: Sausage, sauerkraut and grilled zucchini

We are starting up our Winter Southern SOLE Food Challenge and will run through the end of April 2013. Annie Rie Unplugged did a great post a few days ago about our little challenge. Head over there and check it out.

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

This past weekend was a long one for me with most of my time spent in bed feeling nasty. By Sunday I was able to be up and around and needed a super easy and low maintenance meal. My husband brought home some Cajun venison sausage and I had a few zucchini on the counter so I headed out to the grill

SSFC-Venison, zuc & kraut

I also still have a couple of quart jars of the sauerkraut that I made from our cabbage this past spring. I don’t know how it has lasted this long, but it got shoved to the back of the refrigerator and I was thrilled to be able to pull it out and put it straight on the plate.

I also had some stone ground mustard that I made a few months ago and it went perfect with the meal.

Click on the badge above to see what else the other participants have cooked up this week

Have you found any wonderful new-to-you local foods lately? Please comment and share a link.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden, Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to SSFC: Sausage, sauerkraut and grilled zucchini

  1. annierie says:

    Yum, venison sausage. Can’t wait until we get our venison today. There will be chili sometime soon, and sausage and sauerkraut looks good too.

  2. narf77 says:

    No venison here but I do have a pot of homemade kimchi in the fridge…does that count? I have been exorcising my rss feed reader blogs and filling it up with sustainable and homesteading blogs and have found some really amazing fermentation blogs and foraging blogs…looks like 2013 Serendipity Farm might get overgrown with “weeds” that have suddenly become valuable to this newly educated penniless hippy! 😉

    • HI Fran, I was less than thrilled with the kimchi I made. I know I will make some again this winter. Fermenting is a great way to use up produce and “preserve” it for eating later. I love wild edibles (weeds) too. IN the summer we eat lambsquarter and purslane from the yard and I plan to sow dandelion so they will come up this spring

Leave a Reply

