Zucchini and potato au gratin (sort of)

Yup, another post about zucchini! On Monday I posed my weekly SSFC meal and part of it was a dish that I recently made using more zucchini. While the zucchini are gone, I am still using the zucchini that are on the counter. I will miss them when they are gone!

Potato Zucchini Au Gratin 2

I was thrilled when I came across a recipe that Nancy has posted over at Homesteading in Maine for her version of scalloped potatoes. Although I am more of a fan of au gratin-style potatoes, I liked her recipe when I read it and gave it a try. I have been loosely using her recipe for a few years now and still love it.  I tend to go more “au gratin” with mine adding cheese, cheese, oh, and a bit more cheese! I also do not peel my potatoes, I prefer the skins on (and it is easier!)

Head over to Homesteading in Maine for the base of this recipe. It is made up of:

  • potatoes
  • onion
  • cheese (did I mention that yet?)
  • mustard seeds
  • mustard powder
  • cornmeal
  • milk
  • crushed red peppers
  • butter

Making Potato Zucchini Au Gratin 2

Nancy mixes her milk, mustard powder and cornmeal before pouring over the dish. I don’t seem to remember to do that anymore. I also don’t saute my potatoes at all, I just layer them raw and go from there, cutting out that step saves me time and less dishes to wash. It does take longer to cook, but I am ok with that.

Making Potato Zucchini Au Gratin 3

I also layer a lot of onions, mustard seeds, cheese between my layers. I also sprinkle some cornmeal and mustard powder between a several of the layers too and pour a bit of milk in there as I go along adding my layers.

Potato Zucchini Au Gratin 1

The process was the same as I made this up with zucchini and potatoes, alternating my layers as I went along. the zucchini added a lot more liquid as it cooked (not soupy, just a noticeable difference from cooking this dish with all potatoes.) The next day all the extra liquid was soaked into the dish.

I think this recipe lends itself to a lot of combinations depending on the season. I look forward to using winter squash, turnips, and onion. In the summer I look forward to more zucchini or other summer squash and eggplant. The summer version could even be baked ahead of time and served cold.

What types of concoctions have you come up with that you alter from time to time based on what is in season, or in your cupboards?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cheese, Food, Garden, Homemade, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Zucchini and potato au gratin (sort of)

  1. narf77 says:

    We have incoming zucchini starting to advance on us like the ravening hoardes that they are…I am sure that soon we will have so many zucchini we will be able to keep Sidmouth in zukes for months but the big problem is…so does everyone else! I might have to get creative with them and this delicious looking recipe might just lure Steve, the zuke-o-phobe into at least putting some of them into his mouth (maybe I could puree them with bacon first…) 😉

    • I am so excited for your zucchini that are growing. There are ways to hide it in many things. Shred it and add to sauces (like spaghetti sauce) and zucchini muffins and breads are hard to beat. One of our neighbors is a SUPER picky eater and he now loves zucchini breads & muffins. The guys at my husbands work were so skeptical when I sent breads & muffins for them to eat, not anymore! Zucchini cole slaw – I haven’t tried it yet, but I think it would work. Oh, zucchini refrigerator pickles are good too. Pick them small and they will look like cucumbers pickles when they are sliced.

      Puree it, like you said and add it to things. What the heck it is about zucchini that he doesn’t like – just wonderful?

      Oh, I am sure your chickens will eat the leftover ones that you can’t eat!

      • narf77 says:

        My zucchinis are growing exponentially! The leaves are HUGE and the 6 plants that I planted are all different kinds so it will be interesting to harvest them and see what I can do with them. One kind is specifically for Lebanese stuffed zucchini and I have a yellow and a dark green. I bought a punnet this year but next year will be growing from seed :). I am excited about them too and Glad next door and my daughters all love zucchini so I doubt that I will be resorting to shoving it down Steve’s ungrateful throat if he doesn’t like it. I don’t know what it is that he doesn’t like BUT if he doesn’t like something…good luck to it being eaten! 😉

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Your dish looks good. I don’t have any zuchinni right now except maybe a little left frozen. I have put the shredded in spaghetti sauce and chili. I have not had too much zuchini the past couple of years but if I do I may try your suggestion of refrigerator pickles! I made zuchini muffins once but then felt a little sick after eating them so stopped making those! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy, I wonder why you felt sick after eating zucchini muffins. Too sweet maybe? If you liked it, I think it might be worth another try. We have been eating some of the frozen zucchini bread this past week (I use the same recipe when I make zuc muffins) and it is good.

  3. Pingback: Bolshie broads and the lessons in a spoon « theroadtoserendipity

Leave a Reply

