SSFC: Sweet potato soup with kale and popcorn

Southern SOLE Food Challenge had another theme for this week. Valentine’s Day. As Valentine’s Day approaches, there are several isles at the grocery store focusing on sweets and other Valentine’s gifts, but my sweet treat is of a different nature. Real natural in fact!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Sweet potatoes! Sweet potatoes made into a nice soup. After roasting the sweet potatoes with onion and garlic, I added them to a homemade chicken broth, I love using the immersion blender to puree it all up into a smooth and hearty soup.

SSFC sweet potato soup, kale, popcornI had my husband cut some kale from the garden and added that at the last minute, right before serving. It had just enough time to wilt a bit.

My husband prefers his soup with crumbled crackers while I love mine with popcorn. I either toss a bit in – just enough to scoop up on the spoon, or I take a spoon full of soup and top each bit with a few popcorn kernels. YUM!

  • Sweet potatoes – bought for a little market about 7 miles from us – they deal with local grown products. I just can’t remember which farm these came from.
  • Onions – from the garden (preserved in the freezer)
  • Garlic – from last springs garden harvest
  • Kale – from the garden
  • Popcorn – local popcorn I bought when I was in WI
  • Check broth – homemade using bones left over after roasting on of Edelen Farms birds.

My sweet treat is unconventional for Valentine’s Day, but I think it was perfect. My husband prefers sweet potatoes over any other potato, so it is a perfect meal to put together for this SSFC Valentine’s Challenge.

Click on the SSFC badge at the top of the page and it will link you to the others that are participating in our challenge.

What type of sweet treats are you preparing this week?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Local and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSFC: Sweet potato soup with kale and popcorn

  1. angela says:

    I love popcorn and soup, but never thought to put them together. I’ll have to try it! I like your spin on the sweet treat for Valentine’s Day. My sweet treat will probably be a cake, but I’ll post about it next week.

    • Hi Angela, I have no idea how I started eating popcorn with my soup, it happened years and years ago. I imagine I had left over popcorn and it just happened. I don’t throw a whole bunch of popcorn in, because that would get soggy, but just enough for each bite.

      I look forward to reading about your SSFC Valentine’s treat later in the week.

  2. narf77 says:

    Every day is valentine’s day for Steve and I :). Just kidding! We don’t celebrate it because it is a commercial holiday dreamed up to make profits for retailers in this lean time between Christmas and Easter and we refuse to celebrate anything that has “PROFIT” as it’s major drawcard. Steve picks little roses for me from the garden occasionally…on the days that he does that it is my own personal Valentine’s Day :), whenever he makes me a special wooden spoon with love and care and presents it to me it is Valentine’s Day :). I love the idea of sweet potato and kale soup…just got to be able to stop the rancid possums from harvesting my kale first! They have stripped my poor babies 3 times now and the slugs are helping them! I guess it is just sweet potato and swiss chard (that the possums can only reach the outer plants and the slugs seem to dislike) for me!

    • Hi Fran – I am with you all the way on not supporting the profit end of Valentine’s day. There was a point in my life where I bought cards and little gifts, but not anymore. I enjoy making cards and sending those out. For me it is more about the love of friendship and acknowledging it with card. I giggled when you said everyday is Valentine’s Day for you and Steve, but I enjoyed hearing about the little things that he does for you throughout the year. For years I reminded my husband not go buy me anything for Valentine’s day. I didn’t want “things” (although a card is nice) but instead I love it when he does project with me and for me/us. No matter what day of the year they land on. Are the possums getting in through the fishing net? Oh and I will put any green in the soup, the kale just needed to be picked so that is what went in. Chard and spinach work just as well!

      • narf77 says:

        The possums can’t get through the fish netting but we have the problem that now we look like we are trying to camoflage another type of “crop” and as we have an old American friend (Californian) who is a king sized fruit loop and who grows special crops himself but whom we love because he is a lovely guy (albeit crazy and skewed šŸ˜‰ ) we are wondering when the police are going to knock on the door and ask to take a visit up to see our tomatoes! ;). Oh well…it will be interesting for them and they can take some home with them…by the time they get around to it I might have some corn and jalapenos that they can take home as well…wait a minute…would that be construed as bribing a police officer?! EEP! šŸ˜‰

  3. Nancy Davis says:

    Your soup looks so yummy. But popcorn with soup??? I had never heard of doing that and am not sure about that one! lol Nancy

    • Hi Nancy – Yup, Popcorn with my soup. I have been doing it for years. If I don’t have any left-over popcorn, I still don’t use crackers in my soup very often. Do you like crackers in your soup?

Leave a Reply

