SSFC: crock pot short ribs and more

Since I can’t go to the farmer’s markets or stores by myself, for the most part I am relying on my freezer and garden for meals.

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

This is really helping me get through the loads of stuff squirreled packed away in the freezer and it is really making a difference.

For this meal, I was able to defrost a package of beef short ribs, pork ribs, green peppers and onion, and several containers of drippings from past roasts. I added it all to the crock pot and set it on low for a slow cook. After several hours I headed out to the garden and, with the help of my husband, brought in some of the celery and kale. I added the chopped celery midway through the cooking process and added the kale at the end.

SSFC short ribs etc 3The crockpot was overflowing and that was great because I could put a bunch of it into containers to send to work with my husband for his lunches. I laughed as I put more containers back into the freezer…. but it was a healthy homemade version of “fast food.” So easy to grab for a quick, especially as I am limited with what I can do right now.

I will need to come up with another crock pot full of healthy goodness soon to replenish the freezer.

  • Short ribs – Bandera Grasslands (part of the 1/8 of a cow I purchased)
  • drippings – from past cooked local roasts
  • Green pepper & onion from the freezer – last summers garden
  • Celery & kale – out back in the garden

If you would like to see what the other participants are cooking up for our Southern SOLE Food Challenge, just click on the SSFC badge at the top of the page.

Do you make large meals and freeze some extra portions for a homemade version of “fast food?”

Sincerely, Emily

 

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Homemade, Local and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SSFC: crock pot short ribs and more

  1. narf77 says:

    It must be incredibly satisfying to know that you can fall back on your past squirreling :). That’s what I tell Steve whenever he complains “I can’t get into the pantry any more!!!!”… 😉

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    You sure know how to cook! Yes, I do like to make extra and freeze! One of my favorite things to do! Nancy

    • That extra food is great for those days when I just don’t have the time…. as long as I remember to pull it out and give it time to thaw!!! Right now I have all the time in the world and I am grateful for those meals in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

