Fresh broccoli

The broccoli plants look like they couldn’t possibly produce anything right now. Their leaves are all shriveled up and they just look plain terrible. Yet, I am still picking little broccoli shoots from them.

Fresh steamed broccoliI steam it just a few minutes. The green color is amazing and the stems are so very tender, This broccoli is nothing at all like fresh or frozen grocery store bought broccoli. There is no bitter aftertaste, no toughness, nothing. It is definitely a treat.

Are you a fan of broccoli?

Sincerely, Emily

 

This entry was posted in Food, Garden and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Fresh broccoli

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    You make me want to try to grow broccoli!!!!!! Nancy

  2. Nancy says:

    Looks good, even if they are just the shoots. Bet they are delicious!

  3. narf77 says:

    I remember when my mother worked in a market garden and I was about 13 years old she brought some of an amazing new crop back for us to try. We all sat around the table in eager anticipation as she brought our meal to us complete with the new “broccoli” in state with a simple butter, salt and pepper garnish. It was amazing! I have adored broccoli ever since :). Might have to grow some this winter methinks šŸ™‚

    • I am laughing because I remember you commenting and telling your broccoli story (which I love, it is such a great great story!) which means I have pasted about broccoli before I guess. oh well, here it is again. I think you should definitely plant some this winter.

  4. victoria says:

    It’s in my dinner tonight! Pasta al forno w/ broccoli…it’s sooo yummy.

  5. Pingback: SSFC: Quiche | Sincerely, Emily

Leave a Reply

