SSFC: Quiche

Quiche was on the menu and I am glad it lasted for a few meals this past week/weekend

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I am still not spending a lot of time cooking and quiche is so easy to make and is a great way to get more vegetables into our meal. I made two different quiches throughout the week, and they were great for lunch and dinner.

SSFC quiche sausage brocChard and spinach are also on the menu in one form or another and went into quiche.  I am still digging into the depths of the freezer and pulled out some ground pork and that went into the quiche.

I am still picking broccoli shoots. They are so tender and we are enjoying as fast as they grow out in the garden.

  • Eggs – from neighbor down the road
  • Ground pork – Bandera Grasslands
  • Chard & broccoli shoots – from the garden
  • Cheese in the quiche – some I made and some store bought

It was a week for of eating local.

To see what the other participants in the Southern SOLE Food Challenge are cooking up, just click on the SSFC badge at the top of the page.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Cheese, Food, Garden, Herbs, Homemade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSFC: Quiche

  1. narf77 says:

    You can’t go wrong with quiche and even we vegans can eat it now 🙂 (except minus the eggs… I thought I had best say that before I get showered with puritanical jibes 😉 )

  2. Rebecca says:

    This looks so good!

  3. Susan says:

    Thanks for reminding me to make quiche. I LOVE it, but rarely make it. We’ve got spinach and chard in the garden right now, so that may just show up on our table in the next few days.

    • Hi Susan, Our spinach and chard as still growing. The days are numbers as we start to heat up down here. My mom just did a huge harvest and helped me steam a lot of it and vacuum seal it to stash in the freezer.

Leave a Reply

