A room with a view is not always a good thing

ERThis past week has been Spring Break in my area of South Texas. Everyone has been making plans, going somewhere or just planning to relax at home. “Spring Break” doesn’t really mean anything to me. No kids, no one heading to visit us… it was just another week on the calendar (actually with lots on my calendar.) Well, that was what I thought. From my post last week you learned about my many limitations.

I really need to back up to the end of January when this all started. I had a complete hysterectomy. It was necessary and unavoidable. There was no way I could leave either ovary because of tumors (happy to report they were benign!) I can get real technical and use all the medical explanations, but I will keep it simple for now. Complete hysterectomy. Done. Most of us know that there is always a risk with any surgery; big or small. Most of us know that sometimes there are complications. For me, those things are always in the back of my mind.

Head over to Not Dabbling in Normal to read more.

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A room with a view is not always a good thing

  1. Dani says:

    Had the same thing happen to me in January 2006 – 1.4kg (benign) tumour which grew in only 6 months. Also resulted in becoming a complete “sports model” LOL

    Must’ve been scary until you found out that they were benign… Hope you’re back on your feet soon πŸ™‚

    • Hi Dani – ya the week of unknown was not fun. Once the results came I could breath a sigh of relief and knew it would be a routine surgery. The whole blood clot complications post surgery is a enough to shake it all up again. I am on the road to recovery and hoping for smooth sailing at this point.

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    Oh, Emily, I am so sorry. I hope you heal fast and nothing else goes wrong. I am sure that you will make the best of it and do other things. Life does not go our way sometimes I am finding out! Hugs and prayers. Nancy

    • Nancy, you are right, life doesn’t always do our way. UGH! Thanks for your comments and conversations via blogs. I am finding little things around the house that I can do SLOWLY of course, but I am grateful I am doing as well as I am.

  3. Victoria says:

    Sending wishes of a quick recovery! Take it easy & keep relying on friends & family, you’ll be back in the garden before you know it!

    • Thanks Victoria! The shortness of breath with little exertions is enough to remind me rather quickly that I need to slow down. It is funny that I can forget from time to time, especially first thing in the morning when I get up and hit the floor at my old normal pace. I can’t even get out of the bedroom before I am trying to catch my breath and am reminded. (short term memory must be a symptom too! ha)

Leave a Reply

