SSFC: Another quiche and more chard

Oh, Look! Another quiche! There’s a surprise! (can you read the sarcasm in that?) It is always best to use up what I have at home or in the garden before I go elsewhere and I am still sticking with simplicity here for the Southern SOLE Food Challenge.

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

I don’t’ have the energy for creativity in the kitchen right now, and we don’t ever seem to be tired of eating quiche. It is such a great way to use up things from the garden and things from the freezer.

SSFC quiche chardThis quiche was filled with kale, sausage and more peppers and onions from the freezer. The milk was also local and I mostly used cheese that I had made. Chard on the side from the garden and also some toasted homemade bread with herbs butter…. so it was about a 85%+ local meal. There will be many variations of this meal made throughout the summer.

I would say eggs are one of the main things I never want to be without. They are so easy to turn into any meal; breakfast, lunch or dinner.

What is the one ingredient you feel you must have on hand?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Bread, Cheese, Food, Garden, Homemade and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to SSFC: Another quiche and more chard

  1. Nancy Davis says:

    I must try making a quiche! Yours look so yummy (as all your meals do)!!!!! How are you feeling? Any better? Nancy

    • HI Nancy, quiche is an easy meal to make. I always have fresh eggs and it is a great way to use up bits and pieces from the fridge or freezer. I am hanging in there. Moving very slowly and trying to take it one day at a time. I get tired very quickly, but that will improve as I improve.

  2. Angela says:

    Nothing wrong with quiche. My go-to dish when I’m feeling lazy and need to clean things out of the fridge/freezer is an omelet, which is less creative than a quiche! I would say my go-to ingredient is a potato. You can have them with any meal and cooked a million different ways.

Leave a Reply

