SSFC: New to me

Our theme this week was “new to me,” “way out there” or “off the wall.” My plan all along has been “new to me” in anticipation to a new-to-me vegetable that I grew this winter.

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Salsify! This isn’t a vegetable that I knew much about. I have heard of it, but was better introduced to it last winter in the Dark Days Challenge when AnnieRie Unplugged highlighted it in one of her posts.

Well, here I am, and I am not going to be talking much about salsify (I’ll save all that for another post)… and that has left me scrambling to come up for something to make and get ready for this post.

SSFC 1When people “like” my posts, I try to go and check out what they are up to and I try to leave a comment thanking them for stopping by. I don’t always get to all of them, but I do try. Last week I stopped by Stephen’s Gourmet Blog to thank him for checking out one of my posts and saw a lasange alla Genovese that inspired me to make the lasagna that would wind up being my “new to me” post for the SSFC challenge today.

SSFC 2I used his recipe as an inspiration and went off in my own direction based on what I have around the house right now. I have tons of basil pesto still in the freezer. I have an organic butternut squash that has been sitting on the counter far too many week. I am still unearthing bags of peppers from the freezer (that is a nice surprise when you think you have eaten them all!) I found a bag of frozen green onions. I still have tons of chard, fresh, in the garden. So this has turned into Lasagna alla Emily’s freezer, garden and cupboard.

SSFC Veg lasagnaAll in all, this was a mostly local meal. How does the “new to me” fit in? Well, I do make vegetarian lasagnas, but they are usually filled with eggplant and zucchini, both of which are out of season here right now, so I turned to what was in season for the most part and I just made it work. The one thing I would change is the creaminess of this… I ran out of milk so my bechamel sauce was on the thick side. Next time I will make sure I have enough milk on hand.

Have you stepped out of the box recently and made something new-to-you?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Herbs, Local and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to SSFC: New to me

  1. Lorelei Mayer says:

    Emily, I go to a Filipino food store about twice per year and they carry a Nestle product of powdered whole milk. I know you usually use local but this might be something to keep in the pantry on those days when you run out!

    • YES YES. I actually have some… it is even organic. I just completely forgot about it until I had made the whole lasagna up. Now if I can just remember that the next time I run out!!

  2. Victoria says:

    Sounds yummy. Chard + butternut squash….divine! Having basil pesto at the ready is integral to my cooking. A cube here & there brings summer into any dish. This week I made my first garlic chive pesto, and it won’t be my last!

    • HI Victoria – My husband just filled 5 large pots for me yesterday so I could get the basil seeded and going. I love having it in the freezer. Ooooo, not garlic chive pesto – why didn’t I think of that! That is such a great idea! THANK YOU!!! I have TONS of garlic chives that are all flourishing right now, but won’t be around for long once we really heat up.

      • Victoria says:

        I have this crazy idea that every Sunday, through the summer, I’ll make a batch of pesto. Considering I’m still pregnant, this might be a lofty idea….but I’m hell bent on it! Good luck with the garlic chive pesto…are you adding anything else to it? Roasted hot/sweet peppers, lemon, cilantro?

  3. Thanks for the mention!

  4. Nancy Davis says:

    Oh, my, you know me! Not much is made outside my box here!! lol Yours sure look delicious tho! An inspiration to me! Nancy

    • Hi Nancy. It was really good. The smoothness of the squash and then a zap of the hot pepper. The squash did make it a very filling dish. I plan to make it this fall when the zucchini and eggplant are coming in. Light it up a bit.

Leave a Reply

