SSFC: My first Spring harvest

Spring has come on semi-gradually this year. We go from 90F to 47F to 80-something to 50-something and then repeat it all.

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

Click the badge to link to the other participants and see what they prepared this week!

That is fine with me, delay the full-on summer as long as Mother Nature wants to.

This post is a little different from my normal Southern SOLE Food Challenge. I didn’t make a meal, I just want to highlight my first harvest of the season. Peppers! What a big surprise right?

Cubanelle, Anaheim, and salsa pepper (new to me.) There are already a few more out there to harvest. I have not tried the salsa pepper yet, I imagine it is on the hot side, like a jalapeno.

First harvestThe other peppers out there this year are serrano, cayenne, banana and jalapeno. Most of the plants are flowering like mad and have many peppers forming already.

I don’t want the tomato plants to feel left out. They are looking happy out there also. A few of them have tomatoes forming that are larger than golf balls already and the cherry tomatoes are forming too.

Just a quick mention for the okra – it just popped up today, so things are moving right along.

What stage is your garden in?

Sincerely, Emily

This entry was posted in Garden, Local and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to SSFC: My first Spring harvest

  1. sandy says:

    Peas are going in this morning! Spring is late coming to Ohio this year, there is a bit of lettuce coming up and the radishes are up, yippee! Shapining up to be quite dry too. Did clean up and pruning all weekend, moving slow this morning 🙂

    • Hi Sandy – I can almost taste you spring peas just thinking about them. YUM! My lettuce has gone to seed and is flowering. Just waiting to collect the seeds. I will dream of you lettuce too. Clean up seems to be an ongoing thing. Happy Spring to you!

  2. Nancy Davis says:

    My peas are up but my peppers and tomatoes won’t go in until about the middle of May this year. Radishes and lettuce growing! Anything is wonderful to harvest after the winter weather! Nancy

  3. Unfortunately, the weather is still wreaking havoc here – snow again today. Most of us gardeners are still in various stages of spring clean-up – very little planting outdoors yet. Maybe in another week or two? Nice to see those peppers! 🙂

  4. Clara says:

    I’ve been enjoying peas in the garden every few mornings. The purple, yellow, and green beens have been producing since mid-March. Not a huge crop but enough to chop into our salad greens (crawford, black seeded simpson, tom-thumb, mesclun mix). All of the greens have been a welcome addition to all of our meals. I’ve been cutting radish (french breakfast) greens, bok choy, broccoli raab greens, spinach and swiss chard almost daily. I shred them finely and wilt them over carmelized onions and mix in a little paprika and garlic. It’s great as a side dish but even better scrambled with eggs in the morning and wrapped in a corn tortilla. omg. hungry now. 😉

    This is my first year with a garden of my own! =)

Leave a Reply

